October 22, 2014 | 1453 users online

Mascara - Tarte - Four Day Stay Lash Stain



image 0

rated 2.3(46 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.3
  • 32% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 9/15/2011 8:21:00 AM More reviews by amany12

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using a lash growing product for about a year now and I noticed that the ends of my lashes are losing their pigment. I use regular mascaras that I love, but I got a sample of this and decided to try it. It is ok. I am not sure I would buy it again though. It is a mess to apply, but once on it really did dye my lashes. I use very little and pretty much only on the ends. It does dry quickly, but I find it is really easy to remove the product, or mistakes. Put some olive oil on a cotton ball or cotton swab-The oil breaks up the product and it comes right off. (Edit-after a few more uses I am sure I will not use this again-way too drying and lots of lash fall out)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/11/2011 6:14:00 PM More reviews by alessie04

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I picked this up at Sephora almost a year ago as they had it on sale for 50% off. I use this whenever I am going to the pool or going to be anywhere that I won't be able to touch up my mascara. I hate waterproof mascaras because they look so fake. I already have long lashes and the addition of mascara looks like I try too hard for a simple swim.
What I don't understand about the reviews here is "it's so difficult to take off without lashes falling out!"....um...did you not read "4 day lash stain" when you bought it? The whole concept is to NOT take it off...
Anyways, I wouldn't say it lasts for 4 days, more like 2. What I like about it is that it only needs minor touch ups because it holds up pretty well.
It is a very "wet" product. It makes my eyelashes JET black, almost shiney, but tries as quickly as an oridinary mascara. I don't have much issue with lashes sticking together, but I usually apply it with the curved wand turned upside down. I then work in small strokes, starting at the base of my lashes, working my way up. I will also slightly move the wand back and forth across my eyelashes. The straight "up and down" technique always leaves my eyelashes clumpy and nasty looking no matter what mascara. When I touch up with this product, I literally just pat the wand to areas that need it.
It smells like a permanent marker. But since I don't usually hold mascara tubes under my nose, the smell doesn't get to me at all.
I really really wish they made this in a brown color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/6/2011 6:34:00 PM More reviews by oingoboingoqueen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I liked the concept of having my eyelashes looking fabulous for four days, but this mascara was really bad. First, the product was too wet and clumped my lashes together. Second, the smell was horrible. Lastly, it was very hard to remove without a couple of lashes falling out. I was really hoping to like this product because I really did fall for Lash Hugger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/17/2011 3:37:00 PM More reviews by wbwilliams1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Never again. Ever. My friend bought this for me as a Christmas gift and I'm so sad she wasted her money, because it's nasty stuff. It clumps all your lashes together, looks heinous, and won't come off try though you may. Run, don't walk, away from this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/14/2011 9:22:00 AM More reviews by SondraH

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I bought this after trying it in an Ulta store - where it covered my blonde eyelashes so well I was shocked. (Don't know if it's just me, but mascara usually leaves the top of my lashes still blonde, which looks very odd... two-toned!) The Ulta salesperson did not mention it was going to be a bear to get back OFF my eyes! Not only that, but once home, I was unable to duplicate the look I got in the store, which must've been more about their cheapie disposable brush than the lash stain itself! It will be going back, when I can take the time to drive over an hour to the closest Ulta store. After reading the reviews, and hearing how many people lost eyelashes to this stuff, it's just not worth it. Mine are already too fragile and sparse to risk losing more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 11:32:00 AM More reviews by signsoflife

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this as part of the sampler set and I found it fairly useless. I have straight, short lashes, and since this is a lash stain, I wasn't expecting any lengthening or thickening, but I found the formula very watery on the wand, and once on lashes, very gloopy and clumpy. Did it darken my lashes? Yes. So I suppose this might work for someone with long, thick lashes (but then, why would you need this?) but again for me, useless. The packaging was cute, but that was about it and I would not use again. Also, it smeared on me within six hours. I don't need the embarrassment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/11/2011 4:10:00 PM More reviews by BeTheChange

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I got this in black and it isn't bad. It's super dark and doesn't clump. It's so sleek an lasts a long time. Not loving the curved brush though. It is a pain in the butt to get off. If you get it on your skin it's even harder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/25/2010 5:23:00 PM More reviews by EmberAmber

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

My only complaint is that it makes my lashes stick together and it's difficult to do if it dries. And it dries quickly. Also I have to use makeup remover and it doesn't stain my lashes. What I do like about it is that my eyes are defined beautifully, it doesn't smudge and my lashes look super long and healthy. Also I have sensitive eyes and it doesn't irritate them.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2010 8:11:00 AM More reviews by Meaninc

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I love this stain, however I was warned by an ulta rep that it's less like a stain and more like a waterproof mascara that lasts really long. I have to agree with her. My lashes are not soft when using this product, but I am fine with that. I need something that keeps my lashes at bay because the curl in every direction. This does the job and gives me a little color. Mascara doesn't work for me anymore because they tend to chip off from my lashes and fall in my eyes. This stays on and seperates my lashes. My lashes look more defined, but not like I have on gobs of mascara. It gives me that natural look. Honestly, I think men could wear this too. I find when using Avon's Mosture Effective eye makeup remover to get my eyeshadow off this stain only lasts for about 20 hours. I still like it though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/25/2010 9:01:00 PM More reviews by reggielover

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Been wanting to try this for a while. I used to get my lashes professionally dyed. Stopped because it got to be way too expensive. Can't figure out what the deal is with this product. Doesn't last for me at all. Very disappointed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No