August 30, 2014 | 1160 users online

Moisturizers - The Body Shop - Aloe Soothing Moisture Lotion SPF 15



image 0

rated 3.6(21 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 1/14/2014 3:13:00 PM More reviews by mepep9

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this moisturizer because my skin was really dry and dehydrated from my acne treatment. Even though the lotion did work and moisturized my skin, but it now makes my skin super oily and makes me break out like crazy after using this product for only 2 weeks! Definitely not buying again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/16/2013 3:51:00 PM More reviews by rebeccarkane

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

There are worse moisturizers out there, but there are also better ones. I like that it contains SPF, but it's just a little too greasy/heavy for me. It makes my face look oily when worn alone, but if I put Smashbox's light face primer on top when applying my makeup, it instantly mattifies my face, so I will continue to use it until I run out. Smells okay.

Not sure if I will repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2013 11:56:00 PM More reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I decided to try this product after using two jars of the non-SPF Aloe Vera Moisturizing Day Cream. I figured adding SPF should be a no-brainer!

I feel like this product lasted a long time (about 2 months) considering I used it on average 2-3 times daily. It is lightweight and odorless, plus a little goes a long way. However, I felt as the day wore on, my skin would become a bit greasy. I thought this was the foundation I was using, but found this to happen on days I did not apply makeup at all. I typically have combination skin, so maybe this is a product better suited for very dry skin types?

Either way, I would definitely repurchase because it did do a pretty good job of moisturizing my skin and preventing sun damage. I did not experience any breakouts with this product, as it is quite gentle.

But so far my favorite TBS moisturizer has to be Vitamin E Intense Moisturizer in the pink jar. Overall, this is a good product at a decent value, especially if you're a dry skin type who is SPF conscience!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/10/2013 1:59:00 AM More reviews by fenimore

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have annoying skin - It's acne-prone, but also sensitive and prone to easily drying out. I have to strike a balancing act as I cannot use most acne regimens without my skin overdrying and reacting with big, deep acne. Unfortunately, most sensitive skin products tend to be too moisturizing/greasy while most acne moisturizers are too drying/irritating and mattifying/oil control moisturizers tend to somehow make me look extra oily. After reading glowing reviews of this from people describing seemingly similarly finicky skin, I decided to try it.

Unfortunately, big mistake. I used it twice and ended up with not only tons of tiny little whiteheads from pore clogs, but my skin freaked out and gave me multiple giant, deep nodules - you know, under the skin, hard, painful and it seemed like it was trying to spread. I don't know which ingredients are to blame, but SOMETHING in it made my skin have a severe reaction. I immediately quit using it and the acne started clearing up, so this was definitely the culprit.

If you have sensitive skin, be sure to get a sample first or at least make sure you buy from a retailer with a solid return policy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2013 5:00:00 AM More reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a very nice mid-range moisturiser with sunscreen that works for sensitive skin. I was trying to get my husband to use a sunscreen and needed something that wouldn't irritate his sensitive skin. He had tried several other products that caused small bumps to appear or started causing a rash. This product was recommended by Paula, so I gave it a shot. Success! He's on his fourth tube.

It's got no color, fragrance, or shine, is a thin lotion consistency that sinks in well. So, perfect for a guy...or gal. It's got some moisturising ability, but probably won't be enough if you have super dry skin. The flip top tube is great packaging and good for travel. Price is not super cheap, but affordable for regular use. If you're having problems with sensitive skin, give this a try.

Note: In the search for something non-irritating, I also had him try Clinique's Men's Age Defense Hydrator SPf 15. That product also provided all the benefits he needed and caused no problems for his sensitive skin. He now prefers the Clinique due to its silkier feel. Of course, the Clinique is about twice as expensive. So, for something a little more basic, the Body Shop Aloe Lotion is a great option.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2013 12:38:00 PM More reviews by Xante87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is a good product for my sensitive, dry skin. My face is less red and feels calm. I love it that it's a packaged in a tube, so there is no chance for oxygen to ruin the product. Another plus is the SPF.
Unfortunately it's not moisturizing enough for me in the winter. I kept putting layers of cream on my face, which was not working for my (very) dry skin. I will buy it again, but only for using in hot summers.
When I use this product daily, it takes 3/4 months before it's empty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2012 5:10:00 PM More reviews by SkinCareAficionado

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

My experience: I bought this as I was having severe eczema appear on my chin at the time of the month, I tried many things also pure Aloe Vera and even that didn't help to prevent the eczema as much as this -amazing for reddened skin! I use proper eczema cream when it is really bad but this helps to prevent it. This moisturiser feels a little gloopy to put on, it may feel slightly tacky when you first put it on but gets a lot better as it sinks in, it's a white lotion which is pleasant to apply,don't need much. Won't do any mattifying of oily skin but isn't awfully greasy either, doesn't cause spots, it is great as a general moisturiser especially for irritated or sensitive skin (either naturally or from hormones or harsh treatments). Foundation goes on rather smooth after applying as it effectively moisturises most flaky areas.

The sun protection part** One lipstick off for this, I think they have used a 'throwaway' form of sun protection which is common is everyday moisturisers. It uses chemical sunscreen Octinoxate, Octrocrylene (which stabilises) Avobenzone, SPF 15. This to me is not that reliable protection against UVA rays everyday - although others may be fine with it - and Bodyshop does not specify the important percentages of each in this, so I have personally stopped using this and will switch to the night cream on stressed areas of my skin as I don't like the fact it contains octinoxate (there are studies about how it actually releases free radicals aging the skin rather than protecting) and the Avobezone is only stabilised by Octocrylene rather than another filter/stabiliser like Tinosorb. I use a separate sunscreen to ensure proper protection everyday.

Other info on the product: Comes in A squeezy pale green tube, lasts 6 months from being opened. Fragrance and colour free, main ingredient is Community Fair Trade organic aloe vera comes from Guatemala. The aloe leaves are hand-harvested, hand-washed and hand-filleted within 12 hours to preserve the freshness of the gel. Also contains moisturising Glycerin (2nd ingredient) sesame, shea butter, bisobolol, oat. (See website for full ingredients). Great overall range.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2012 8:17:00 AM More reviews by CarinaCato

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this product. Its the only moisturiser with SPF, I have tried, that doesn't break me out.

I apply it over Benzoyl peroxide because I have light acne, the BP can be really drying and i find this lotion soothes my skin.

I don't understand the other reviews that claim it is heavy or oily, I never have this problem with it. Its a lovely light lotion with the main ingredient being Aloe Vera. Its low on chemicals and irritants.

I love that its in a tube and I don't have to stick my fingers in it to apply. My husband happily uses it because its looks unisex not girly.

An excellent simple lotion with SPF.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/22/2011 1:16:00 PM More reviews by lovejkras

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Let me begin by just stating how much I LOVE Body Shop products. Almost all of my skincare and body care is exclusively theirs. Thus, I had high hopes for this moisturizer.

First, SPF 15 is practically useless. Experts say you need at least 30...but this was the highest they had so I went with it anyway. This makes my skin just feel...gross...sticky and uncomfortable. It hasn't broken me out, yet...but just the way this feels on my skin is a reason not to repurchase. And for $18...I could almost afford two of my HG Neutrogena Healthy Defense SPF 30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2011 9:27:00 PM More reviews by witchymissy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is by far my favourite SPF moisturizer. I have had issues in the past where lotions with SPF would break out my skin or make me too oily. I decided to give this one a try since it's for sensitive skin. I really like this.

It goes on light and blends easily. It's great under my foundation as a primer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No