November 22, 2014 | 1788 users online

Moisturizers - L'Occitane - Shea & Organic Cotton Ultra Comforting Cream [DISCONTINUED]



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(41 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/2/2013 8:00:00 PM More reviews by alina08

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

    This moisturizer really delivers for those who have sensitive skin. I have acne-prone skin and use quite a bit of over-the-counter stuff to treat my skin condition. Many creams irritate my skin or cause me to break out. Not this stuff. It moisturizes without making my skin feel greasy and does not cause any adverse reactions. The consistency of the cream is more like that of a lotion, so it is a bit easier to spread over my face. Over the course of the day, my skin does begin to get oily and have a sheen to it, but as this is not a mattifying lotion, I did not expect the moisturizer to control it. The full price of $38 is a bit ridiculous, despite the efficacy of the product. I would repurchase this product, but only at a discount as L'Occitane offers alternative products that are also mild (such as the Angelica Hydration Cream). However, if you have extremely sensitive or intolerant skin, perhaps this would be a more valuable purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2012 9:53:00 PM More reviews by Andio

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    Ok, I just ordered a replacement of this because I see that it is now discontinued. I have used the cream and the serum. Love them both! This a great calming and moisturizing cream. I hope to be able to get a couple more of these before they are all gone. You can still buy it on the L'Occitane web site.

    >>>Why do they always discontinue the good products. If it isn't broke! don't fix it!

    ...I would be curious to see how the new version of this performs. I thought it looked watery in the store...just an opinion.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 5/22/2012 8:10:00 PM More reviews by Whiteday

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    This is now discontinued. I bought one of the last ones that a store still had in stock. I loved how natural the ingredients were and my skin is a bit sensitive so I thought it would be alright. This didn't irritate my skin but something was definitely irritating my eyes. That's a bit strange and doesn' really t make sense (no, I did not put it on my eyes), but I tried using this moisturiser 3 separate times and each time, my eyes would inevitably sting.

    After buying, another SA told me it was being discontinued because cotton had been a bad choice of ingredient and that some people got irritated by it.The new formulation doesn't contain i it. This was also far too expensive for how much you get.

    If you're one of the people who love this cream because it works for your sensitive skin, you might want to stock up before everything runs out.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/28/2012 10:24:00 PM More reviews by nellynelly12

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Love this, i have been using it for almost a month and it calms my face, reduces redness, softens skin, and is not to 'thick' or 'oily'. The lotion is very calming, and doesn't break out, give me a allergic reaction, or more redness when i use it and i have ultra sensitive skin. it's is probably HG for me!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 12/17/2011 12:50:00 AM More reviews by luxybon

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    This literally eliminates redness, reduces inflammation, and softens the skin's texture within a minute of application. I have acneic, sensitive, combination skin, and this entire skin care line has been helpful for me. It made me realize that I need to treat and soothe my skin in order for it to be healthy, or work with it rather than against it. This "cream" is lovely on my skin and is neither too heavy nor too light. While I do believe it's worth the cost, I personally need less moisture as I have sensitive oily skin. No moisturizer or an oil-reducing mattifier are what I've come to prefer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2011 7:41:00 PM More reviews by shoeshoppinggal

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

    Picked up this product on a long haul flight from Sydney to LA which I make frequently. This product kept my skin feeling comfortable for over 12 hrs. of flying. I loved it!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 4/25/2011 5:22:00 PM More reviews by asymmmetry

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This product hasn't been reviewed for a while so i thought i will chuck in my two cents since im kinda new to skin care and this one sorta saved my first failed attempt at it. well i sorta like began a skin care regime (before this it this habit was sporadic at best) and immediately made the mistake of not testing samples before purchasing.
    and as if every chain reaction must come to an effect, i got extremely flaky dry skin all over my face and it got slightly red and even itchy after using an anonymous cleanser, toner and moisturizer (they are remaining anonymous because it seems like my skin has adjusted to them and no longer has above said horrifying effects.) so after a few days of said horrific effects one night i decided to search for a sample pack of this ultra calming creme which was generously given by a l'occitane salesgirl (she gave me like samples or various products in threes and twos) not long ago and applied it onto my face. and like eureka! my skin immediately calmed down and stopped itching. i really couldn't believe it.

    the reason it doesnt get the highest rating from me is because other than moisturizing and calming my combination/sensitive skin it really doesn't do anything else much. but then again i will be keeping a bottle of this handy in case something unexpected turns up again!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/9/2011 7:11:00 AM More reviews by trixxxster09

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    This is my "Winter face cream". Moisturises my super sensitive skin. Banishes redness and blotchiness too. I just wish they have it on a 50ml bottle.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 2/13/2010 8:46:00 PM More reviews by PhoebesMeow

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Switched to this after my Clean & Clear Soft ran out and liked it for about a week. I really hate to just toss a cream not knowing for sure if its what made me break out, but I'm not taking my chances with this one again. I don't break out very often these days so it had to be this stuff. Disappointing.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2010 4:49:00 AM More reviews by amonavis

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This product is extremely expensive, so let me just get that off my back. But I must admit it is worth every penny because it works like a charm. I am a flight attendant so needless to say my skin can sometimes get parched in the sky. I apply a generous portion of this to my face before my Avene SPF 50 cream and I am hydrated the whole flight, no matter how long! Not only does it do an amazing job hydrating, but it also immediately calms and soothes my mild-rosacea skin thanks to all of its potent anti inflammatories.It has no added scent, just the natural smell of the ingredients which I quite enjoy. By the way did you know that Shea Butter actually is an anti imflammatory unto itself? It was written in Dr Baumann's latest book in cosmetic dermatology. Another reason.... or excuse.... to go to my local Occitaine Store and keep buying the wonderful products from the Ultra Comforting range. And THANK YOU l'Occitane for using a pump bottle to keep the ingredients stable and contamination free. When I spend lots of money on a quality product I want the quality to remain until my very last use.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No