August 23, 2014 | 1775 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - Physicians Formula - Organic Wear - Natural to Tan



image 0

rated 3.4(34 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2014 4:49:00 PM More reviews by helenelizabee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My boyfriend went to the US on business recently so I sent him a list of PF makeup to bring back for me as we can't get hold of it very easily in the UK. This wasn't on my list but he bought it as a little extra gift. I was a little put off by all the negative press it seems to have received but I gave it a go anyway and I have to say, I really like it. The smell is very strong (a lavender-y, fresh pine type scent) and I can understand why some people don't like it but I find it very pleasant. I followed the directions on the bottle, shook it very well, then squeezed a little on to the back of my hand. I dotted it all around my face and blended it in with my Real Techniques Buffing Brush. It immediately started oxidising (darkening slightly) on my skin before I'd even started buffing it in but I found that this didn't effect the end result - it blended evenly and was a great match for me. It sat nicely on my skin without a primer (which is the ultimate test as I have an oily t-zone and many products look streaky and slide off my skin in those areas) and it gave a very light coverage with a slightly dewy finish, exactly what I'm looking for in a tinted moisturiser/BB cream in the summer months. I found that the product started to set quite quickly and felt a little stiff to work with after a time (I like to spend quite a while blending in my base product) but again, I quite liked this as it felt like it wasn't going to slide off or leave an oily finish and it never looked streaky or uneven because of the fast setting time. Once I applied the rest of my makeup, I powdered my face with MAC blot powder, sprayed on a liberal layer of MAC Fix +, waited for that to dry completely then went back over my t-zone with my blot powder - something I always do no matter what base product I'm using. By the end of the day, I had a slight sheen down my t-zone area but that's about normal for me. I guess the wear time was no more or less than I'd expect from a TM and it didn't break me out or cause any irritation. The only possible negative for some is that the shade range can't be that great as this seems to be the darkest in the range and is still quite light. All in all however, a great product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/15/2013 5:16:00 AM More reviews by Kbellabella

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product, it's seriously so close to being a holy grail tinted moisturizer theres just a few things that don't make it so..

Pros:
-Very moisturizing and gives a beautiful natural dewy look.
-It gives great coverage and it's buildable for more full coverage.
-it's a minty/tea tree/eucalyptus type scent that I actually love.
-It's organic and all natural and I had no negative effects on my skin
-Makes my skin look clear and bright

Cons:
-too liquidy, wish it was thicker consistency
-not long wearing, about 5 hours or so, but I've never tried it with a setting powder.
-not dark enough for my skin =(

Overall I do really love this product, its moisturizing it smells nice, its makes my skin look wonderful, clear and dewy. I just wish there was a darker shade available with more yellow undertones and I would give it 5-lippies. I got it in natural to tan and it's not dark enough. I could use just a shade darker and it would be perfect. Also, from the looks of it, it has pink undertones and I need yellow. I can really only use this in the winter and even then I had to come to terms that it's too light for me, I'd really love to be able to use this as my go-to everyday holy grail tinted moisturizer!! I've actually stopped using it because it's not a good color match. But if I want to brighten my skin, a bit of this would do the trick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/13/2013 7:56:00 PM More reviews by DinahT

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had to return this. Even for a TM, the coverage was not adequate. It lasted only half the workday on me, and this shade, the darkest in the line, was too light. I didn't mind the smell or the fact that it had a thin consistency, but it did not blend easily into my skin. Because of its poor blendability, you can't layer it for increased coverage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/25/2013 11:16:00 PM More reviews by BXsenorita

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Not a fan of this product at all, I had good experiences with their mineral loose powder and decided to try this as the price wasn't too high & it seemed good to me. The smell...ugh I don't even know whether to describe it as medicine or what but it was terrible and it wouldn't go away. Once you applied this product you would constantly smell this & it's yucky plus strong, I definitely think even my class mates could smell it & kinda steer away from me because of it. The coverage was expectant because it's only a tinted moisturizer but felt it was streaky and gave me a chalky appearance even though it was a tiny bit darker than my skin color. I never bought this again & it did break me out, not PF's best product

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/19/2013 5:54:00 PM More reviews by mrinal96

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

In truth, I was expecting a lot more out of this product but it was overall pretty good :) The coverage wasn't major or anything but it was just enough to cover up redness, not scars though. I actually like the natural, organic, earthy scent. It was nice. The natural to tan was a TAD light for my skin tone though. But, I was able to get away with it once it settled in. It gave me a nice, slightly dewy, finish so my face looked like it glowed! I would definitely recommend it but for now, I want to try something else since this is a little pricey and also because I want a little more coverage. Great organic product, though!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/26/2012 8:16:00 AM More reviews by Jade_Tigress

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Green

I love this product. I am new to tinted moisturizers. I typically use foundation in the winter and nothing in the summer. I don't like to wear heavy makeup but I have some ruddiness I like to even out, along with the occasional pimple. My skin is combination and gets quite oily on the forehead and nose. I usually have to blot with tissues throughout the day.
This product provided very nice, light coverage. Covered the redness and evened out my skin tone overall, yet looked very natural, like I wasn't wearing anything. It does go on thin but still covers nicely.
I didn't have to blot my face all day, but the coverage was not too matte looking and it didn't wear off or fade at all. I even had a nice dewy glow without looking greasy.
It's also nice to know I am protected with SPF. I don't think I'll ever go back to full foundation, not even in the winter. And this is light enough for me to wear during the summer too.
I will definitely be purchasing again.

**edited**
Forgot to add: make sure you shake the bottle well before using it, and go with a darker color than you normally would as the sunscreen lightens it up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/24/2012 4:56:00 PM More reviews by oaivilo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I don't like to wear foundation. I have dry skin generally and it works really well for me! When you first put it on you will appear shiny (it's sunscreen) but it becomes less noticeable after a few minutes. I use benefit's powder lightly over it and it neutralizes the sunscreen-y shine right away, so I would recommend pairing this with powder. I really like that it is buildable... you can put multiple "coats" on your problem areas to increase the coverage without any breaking out (at least for me). Overall it makes my skin look WAY more even by neutralizing redness and lessening blemishes, and it does not give me acne. It definitely looks lighter than my skin when i dab it on my hand, but when applied it blends in and doesn't make me look ashy. I use a cheap-o foundation brush to apply. If you have super dark spots you will need a concealer as well as this is just a moisturizer. I just bought another tube because Physician's Formula was on sale at my boyfriend's work (CVS), so I'm definitely a fan : )

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/16/2011 8:14:00 PM More reviews by lollipopcandydrop

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is very light coverage, of course, and it doesnt really stay very long. Also the cap of mine completely broke off so that made me kind of unhappy. Anyways its ok, but I prefer other tinted moisturizers so I wont repurchase it and I wont recommend it really. Its also very oily so not good with oily skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/25/2011 10:21:00 PM More reviews by noodles74

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

i really, really loved the consistency of this product and the way it made my skin looked...i really wish i could use it, but i just can't get past the smell!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2011 12:44:00 PM More reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This product was two for about eleven dollars at Wallie World. It's too much product for me so I'll probably gift the second one since it may expire before I use it all. I tried it today and it is pretty thin and easy to get in my hairline upon application. It blended easily. I have light skin, but I wanted a tan look, so I got the Natural to Tan. This color looked very natural and gave me a touch more color than I already have. It didn't turn orange or yellow on me which is a plus. It set quickly. It was a bit shiny even after it dried and slightly had that glowy sunblock feel. No problem. I followed it up with my powder bronzer and it toned the shine down. I also used my Clinique concealer under my eyes to hide some of the darkness. By the way, the smell did not bother me at all. It is a bit earthy smell, but if you're used to Burt's Bees and other natural products, you've probably gotten used to the way those products smell - kind of like sticking your nose in the ground. The smell does go away, and I don't notice it after it dries.

I will continue to use this product. It didn't bother my sensitive skin and toned down red areas around my nose and above my chin. The Fair to Light probably would be too light for most light skinned people. I would suggest only the fairest ladies go with the fair to light. It probably wouldn't show up on the average skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No