April 18, 2014 | 1806 users online

Powder - LaurEss - Minimalist Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 4.5(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 3/16/2014 2:52:00 AM More reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Violet

takes almost 1 month after payment for products to arrive. Customer service cannot be reached via email or phone. Makeup is pretty good. One of the better minerals out there . This makeup is very similar to alimapure's mineral formulas. It looks very pretty during the initial application because it makes the skin poreless and smooth. However, it will accentuate any dryness you have to looking like crusty the clown. After 2 hours of wear, my skin has a grayish cast from this mineral and coverage disappears leaving some weird mess on my face. There are many mineral makeup out there that look prettier the longer you have in on through out the day blending into real looking skin by the end of the day. This makeup only look nice initially, then everything goes down hill from there and fail after 2 hours or so . The coverage can be worn from sheer to about medium. It may not be a good long wearing makekup for women with oily skin. Within a few hours, all the pores and redness will look magnified to my horror . It's weird because this makeup is drying and doesn't stay put at the same time. I might consider buying this makeup again when I am older with less facial oil production. But for the moment, this makeup isn't long lasting or pretty looking as I want. I will not be repurchasing. I need to apply too many layers just to get a medium coverage. Even with a finisher, this makeup disappears within two hours. I think this makeup might work better on older women or dry skin girls.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2013 2:19:00 PM More reviews by Treasa

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this----wow
I made a change after everyday minerals stopped selling the product I had been using. I did an extensive search for a new mineral makeup which included looking at ingredients in mineral makeups, trawling through reviews on line and also getting samples from various companies.
I settled on LaurEss and have been using for about 6 months. It has performed wonderfully--no allergies---my skin looks great---coverage is wonderful. My only regret was that I did not find this years ago--it is way better than anything I have ever used---phenomenal makeup and wonderful customer service.
5 star from me

Update; I love this this makeup---love love love it

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/30/2011 9:05:00 AM More reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am really happy with this mineral foundation. I have tried many brands. Started off with Alima which has a weird sheen in my opinion, tried Everydayminerals which I didnt find a color match, tried Lilylolo which was very ordinary but ok, tried Laurier Mercier mineral foundation which was also a good choice but expensive. My HG is Lauress minerals followed by Laurier Mercier. Both have a good oil control with good coverage. Laurier Mercier's pigments are more finely milled compared to Lauress. If that matters to u, I hope it helped. Oil control is about the same. LM looked natural but it seems to cling on any dryness I have in my skin. It also has a sheen like the Alima foundation i used to use but after a few hours i dun see any of that anymore. Lauress gives a very nice healthy glow even after wearing it for 8 hrs. I know my skin can never be that nice looking and i love looking into the mirror when i wear this foundation. I do feel Lauress is a tad expensive overall since it is not a brand which is as established as LM. I mean LM is considered a high end product but lauress is just a few dollars cheaper when u factor in the shipping. OMG. But for the sake of looking good, I will buy lauress. I dun care how well the brand is established. what matters is my complexion looks good. LOL

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/13/2011 6:06:00 PM More reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

There's so much I love about this foundation that I'm afraid the cons will get lost in my review if I don't list them first. So here are the two things I don't totally dig: it's a loose powder, which I find tricky to not make a mess of, and it's very obvious on the face. The pros are EVERYTHING ELSE.
To start with, LaurEss has the best color system I've ever seen. There are eight hue options across 4-7 value options, and they'll even custom-mix. Halle-expletive-lujah, someone finally came up with a logical and nuanced system! Samples are fairly cheap, and free ones come with everything.
Other things I love include the lack of filler ingredients, how little product needs to be used to get good coverage, how light it feels, how it protects my skin from the Daystar (hiss), how it hasn't broken me out, and how aesthetically and practically decent the packaging is. On top of that, customer service was amazing. There was a small problem with my second order, and Lauren herself emailed me back and fixed the issue literally overnight at no cost to me. Plus more samples! So at this point I am basically ready to become a LaurEss zombie and prostrate myself before the dark alter of their unholy cosmetic powers, simply to bask the more in Minimalist Mineral's presence -- that is how much I love this foundation. A++, would bask again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2010 5:22:00 PM More reviews by Mirtika

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've ordered the Minimalist in fresh fawn (twice), which I found a nice, if not totally perfect match.Then got a custom blend (50% fresh fawn, 25% pure gold, 25% pure fawn) and found that was a really god matach and not to 'masky dark" for my skin. I am around NC 42 in MAC, an olive-toned Hispanic (on the med/med-dark side). I have some pitting and scarring from decades of acne and eczema (and I still get some zits, though fewer since menopause and I still get dermatitis and have hyperpigmeted patches on my cheeks). I need a bit of coverage so even out the tone and not accentuate my smallish pocks. I have insanely sensitive skin and can use very, very few foundations, hence my trying minerals. Now, with that basis, here's how it went with LauEss:

This took me some tries to get right. I find that their brushes are fabulous--I have 3 of the kabuki, cause I adore this brush like mad, and one of the powder and a concealer one (which I rarely use, frankly). I'd recommend you get the kabuki first and then consider if you really need any others.

The Minimalist foundation is meant for sensitive skin. I tried it last year with trepidation, but it did NOT irritate me. I have dry skin now (had oily skin when younger), and I do find this can be a bit drying, so I load up with moisturizers before application. (Let all lotions/creams/primers dry or absorb mostly bvefore attempting to brush foundation on).

I like it. The coverage can be light to medium (not deep). I learned to dip the kabuki into some minerals I tapped onto the inside of lid, then lightly circle on the back of my hand to even out the distribution, then lightly, lightly buff around face. This is what helped me get the application right--dip, tap, buff on hand, lightly buff face, layer up on layer to desired coverage.

It takes a few minutes to warm up to its actual color/look, but when it does, wow. You glow. It covers enough that I'm not self-conscious, but not so much it's a mask.

No acne eruptions. No dermatitis. (But if you are dry like me, as i said, MOISTURIZE WELL beforehand to prep skin, and use a heavier moisturizer in your drier spots.) I sometimes lightly blow my face with a blow-dryer on warm to speed up the setting.

I use the Fantastic Finish or Finishing Touch as powder.

I use my regular MAC and NARS blushes with no problem. I have also used the LaurEss blush in FLUSHED, which goes beautifully with many of my lip glosses, especially Nars "Misbehave" and MAC's "Hush, Hush Rose."

I ordered the Ethereal type of foundation to try and see if it's more moisturizing for my againg skin without irritating its sensitive aspect. Will see how that goes.

I love the way I can customize the color and order a ton of samples cheaply to get to a perfect match. I know as the seasons change, I need lighter/darker, and having samples of lighter and darker hues helps me self-customize as needed, too. :)

A very, very pleasing and attractive mineral foundation and totally suitable for SENSITIVE skin gals who can't tolerate many foundations, liquid or powder or mineral.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/30/2010 9:13:00 AM More reviews by oooHUNTRESSooo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

this is a very good mineral foundation. it contains very few ingredients which don't irritate my skin, even if i wear it for 12 hours per day, it doesn't berak me out or cause any problems. however, it is not very mattifying and longlasting, but then again, no mineral foundation is, as far as my experience goes. my shade is radiant gold, which seems very yellow on their website, and a bit less yellow in reality, but it blends very nicely into my skin, it really isn't too warm, and my skintone is somewhere between warm and neutral. it gives nice coverage, i would say light/medium, leaning more towards medium. i do need to use concealer with this, but not much, just a little to cover a bit of redness and some spots. all in all, this is the best mu that i've tried and i use it every day because i feel like this doesn't harm or damage my skin like regular foundations do. and i will continue buying this producta

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/26/2010 12:28:00 PM More reviews by dkirk02

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I ordered samples of this foundation in several colors. The samples were so cheaply priced, at $2.00 each, that it would be easy on the pocket book to order enough samples to find your exact match. My exact match was actually a 50/50 of 2 of their most popular colors. Also worth mentioning is that I only ordered 5 products and actually received 8. The sampling of products that you receive is impressive as is the packaging. Nice touch, LaurEss!

The price for a full supply is about half what most popular brands charge. And it didn't take much product to achieve good coverage. So, overall, I would say it's a good buy.

What did I think of it? Well, LaurEss Minimalist offers better overall coverage than BE. However, it doesn't look as natural. It definitely has a "madeup" look to it. It also broke me out slightly. Just several hours after application, my forehead and t-zone were definitely experiencing a case of the oilies, but could probably be addressed with another dusting of the finishing powder.
I liked the way it felt. And I think it would work for someone who doesn't mind the "madeup" look. But I won't be purchasing LaurEss. I'm trying a few other brands until I find the Holy Grail. Wish me luck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2009 8:27:00 AM More reviews by Zahran

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Since I've switched to mineral foundation and "intelligent" skincare regimen my skin never has been better!
My skin is prone to breakouts: since my adolescence I get hormonal ones, but since I'm on the pill and regularly consult my dermatologist, it's very, very good. So far, for 6 months I'm using it didn't break me out
I'm light yellow/beige toned girl, around NC 15 in MAC and use Radiant Fawn all year round (it's minimaly too dark in winter, but the difference is hard to be seen), if I get some tan I switch to Pure Fawn and lighten in with Radiant.
Minimalist provides good coverage, blurring some imperfections and unifing the skintone. It's invisible, it's hard to tell if I wear foundation or not.
Lasting is very good, alone - ca. 6 hours with out blotting, with mineral base from laures ca. 9-10. I'm satisfied! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2009 10:43:00 PM More reviews by quefret

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using the LaurEss Minimalist for 8 months now. I use it with or without a liquid mineral foundation. It does not overdry, nor does it aggravate or breakout my extremely sensitive rosacea skin. Since it is summertime and school is out, I have not been wearing makeup daily. I have noticed an increase in redness and blemishes since NOT using this!
The only reason I would give this 4 - 4.5 lippies instead is because the LaurEss wears off my nose (and other oily areas) before the end of the day. I have somewhat oily skin, and I don't use a primer or finishing powder, so I don't know how valid my complaint is. I am going to give it 5, try the primer and finisher and see if that helps. Alone, it lasts about 5-6 hours without a touch up.
I use the radiant ivory - great match for my fair neutral skin! It took me a little while, ordering LOTS of samples, to figure out my shade. If you have trouble finding shades that are light enough, check here first! I normally purchase the lightest shade in minerals (and it's still sometimes too dark). Not here - I actually ordered a few too many light shades before finding the one that matched.
As far as the product is concerned, it goes on well (LOVE their kabuki brush! It is SO soft!), provides good coverage of my redness and most blemishes, and looks and feels very smooth and soft. One jar lasts me about a month, maybe a little more - I bought 4 in Dec and haven't ordered any more yet - but I need to soon.
My only other complaint is the same as it would be with any loose powder - it is SO messy! I've gotten much better with my technique, but I still end up with some powder in my nose or on my lashes. However, because it only has 4 ingredients, I can't complain.
Also, the customer service is AMAZING! I had a problem where I didn't receive a jar or two in my order. I contacted them and they immediately shipped it out. :-) If you are thinking about trying LaurEss, they have inexpensive samples that will last 3-4 days, and first class shipping is free on samples! Just try it. It really is great makeup!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2009 10:37:00 AM More reviews by AyalaH

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

The best MMU I tried so far and after 8 months using it, I am still thrilled which says a lot ! It feels soft and creamy, doesn't clog or settle in fine lines, doesn't dry the skin, is very luminous and the choice of colours is great (I use gentle ivory and will go for subtle ivory in summer). It has a good staying power and oil control (I use it with jump start primer and fantastic finish).

When I started with Lauress, I was suffering a resurgence of acne and had a lot a tiny bumps just below the skin on my forehead and that was most disgracious. Lauress did an amazing job in concealing this problem. Moreover, I started an acne treatment shortly after and my skin became more sensitive and dryer in some places. However, lauress did not flake or overdry the skin and I experienced no itching nor rash. A truly wonderful foundation, fit for even the most sensitive skins !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No