October 23, 2014 | 848 users online

Lipstick - Edward Bess - Ultra Slick Lipstick



image 0

rated 4.7(27 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2013 6:48:00 PM More reviews by pdu2503

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have forbidden flower, secret desire and night orchid. All three are incredibly flattering and lightly scented. Every time I wear it I get tons of compliments. The formulation is creamy and moisturizing. It applies easily and evenly. Good color pay off and staying power.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2013 7:26:00 PM More reviews by RebeccaC01

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I discovered these lipsticks in Sephora one day and I was instantly in love. They're moisturizing but long lasting without lipstick bleeding. There's also a wonderful assortment of colors. I have Night Romance, a pretty raspberry color, and Secret Desire, as perfect a neutral pink. There are three Sephoras in NYC that carry this brand and I went to all three but stumped to find the Secret Desire out of stock in all of them. I even went online to Sephora.com but apparently it is the perfect neutral pink for everyone because it was sold out there too. Finally, I went to Bergdorf's this afternoon and I was greeted by none other than Mr. Bess himself. He was very sweet and became giddy when I told him his lipsticks were my favorite and that his neutral palette that I gave to my Mom was her new favorite makeup palette.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/3/2012 12:02:00 PM More reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I purchased his in Night Romance (old packaging), Tender Love and Demi Buff (new packaging). NR is one of the prettier deeper raspberry tones I've tried, no warm brown or orange tones to dull the brightening effect. More cool toned without pulling blue (against my warm, ruddy, olive based skin tone), a difficult color to produce. I think this ill be even better at night, just too strong for my look during the day. Everyone needs a shade like this. I prefer the older packaging this came with too. Demi Buff was one I had high hopes for but pulled too much of an ashy gray tone against my skin. Would be better for someone fairer, cooler, then perfect. Laura Mercier's Sparkling Pink is a tad warmer and hits the nail on the head for me. Tender Love was deeper and more warm-terracotta against my skin than online pic's had suggested. Will return to it for fall. Formula wise, a lot of slip and too light for my tastes, I prefer a heavier, creme formula--LM, BB, being immediate go-to's--the EB formula just wears off too fast. That said, shades are understated and classic, if not ideal for my skin tone. No brash, cheap undertones to ruin them for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/2/2012 7:10:00 PM More reviews by dlasky

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

I really, really wanted to love this product. I have very sensitive lips that have been reacting to almost everything for the past few years. This lipstick came SO close to being just right for me. However, even with putting Aquaphor on before and after the lipstick, it still dried me out by the end of the evening. That deducted one lippie. For normal people, this will be nice and moisturizing for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/4/2011 10:22:00 PM More reviews by kayley123

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This review is for the Blush Allure, Pure Impulse, and Forbidden Flower shades only!

I'm torn on how to rate this, because I like everything about it except the colors. And the colors are not bad colors, they're just terrible ON ME.
They feel great on the lips, moist but not too slippery, no problem with slipping outside my lips. I do feel the formula sinks into my lips and exaggerates dry spots; and if you overapply it can look a little heavy/cakey.
Coverage is medium and buildable; and despite my usual dislike of fragranced products, I like the fig scent a lot (I also like MAC's vanilla scent).
However, Blush Allure is much too light on my pigmented lips, I would have to layer it with a darker gloss to make it work for me. I just can't pull off mod lips, and that's the look I get with Blush Allure.
Pure Impulse is a nude that does not work with my skin tone, it looks like light mud on my lips.
Forbidden Flower is too peachy/orange and a bit too light for me, I get a clown look with it.
Also, I had a slight issue with the packaging in that ALL the lipsticks are a tad off-center and so are rubbing against the sides of the tubes--PI and FF are in the older round tubes. They seem better made and have a very satisfying "click" when you close them, also the material feels a bit heavier and more luxurious. BA is in the newer square packaging, which feels light and does not click closed...it feels a bit cheap in comparison, though it does have the "EB" logo on it. Could just have been rough handling on all three tubes that caused the rubbing, but I'm not sure. I lowered the Packaging Quality rating for this one to a 2 from a 3.
Also a splurge in the price department. I wouldn't buy these colors again, but I WOULD like to buy a different color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/27/2011 4:15:00 AM More reviews by MAS1111

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

My first review on this site - so impressed with product I felt it merited a review!

Ordered Edward Bess ultra slick lipstick in Eternal Passion, based on very helpful reviews on this site (and the links to other sites contained in those reviews - which were very useful re: colour swatches/lipstick tones). First time I have ever bought a make-up product sight unseen, which unnerved me somewhat! I need a blue-based red for my colouring and so many reds are too warm for me. Eternal Passion is the PERFECT red for me! It is blue-based and vibrant, highly pigmented but can blot down to a stain if preferred. Lovely creamy formula, totally non-drying and long lasting. It is pricey (I paid 24) but very high quality.

I had never heard of Edward Bess before (he is so CUTE! And YOUNG!!) The only stockist in the UK is Zuneta - so not possible to try before you buy, which is why reviews are so helpful for this range (It would be helpful if Zuneta could describe the colours in more detail on their site - they had this shade down as 'Flirty 40's red' - which didn't help me much). Also purchased the platinum concealer, for which I will do a separate review.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/23/2010 6:15:00 PM More reviews by skwpt

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I now own 8 Edward Bess lipsticks, and EB currently ranks among my top 3 brands. The new Ultra Slick Lipstick trio for Fall 2010--Blush Allure, Demi Buff, and Rose Demure--are cool/neutral and lighter than the Fall 2009 colors (Tender Love, Forever Yours, and Night Romance). The lipsticks are still demi-matte with the same wild fig fragrance, but I have not found them to be as slick or moisturizing. Another difference is the packaging. Instead of the sleek, round, metal tube with EDWARD BESS printed up the side, the packaging is now rectangular plastic, nearly twice as thick, and has EB stamped on top. Much bulkier but lighter, the lipstick won't roll off a table top onto the floor, but I prefer the slim heft of the old packaging. In fact, I sincerely hope the round metal tubes are not being phased out because I do not care for this new packaging at all, and I wonder if it contributes to the lipstick being less moist than its older sisters. The new casing does not snap shut with a reassuring click like the older lipsticks do. The price has increased since last year, as well, from $29 to $32, but the price hike occurred before the new packaging. Based on this new product direction, Edward Bess lipstick has been edged out of my number 1 spot by Chantecaille Lip Chic lipsticks.

Rose Demure is a medium, cool-neutral pink lip color. It is less beige than Laura Mercier Pink Champagne, cooler than NARS Dolce Vita, and one full shade lighter than the Fall 2009 Forever Yours.

Blush Allure is a pastel-pink nude. It is similar in intensity to Pure Impulse, which is warmer and peachier, and it is lighter and more pink than Secret Desire.

Demi Buff is a neutral tea rose color, with more emphasis on the tea than rose.

From the Fall 2009 collection, Tender Love is my favorite. (It's the only EB lipstick where I am on my 2nd tube, which says a lot). This mid-toned, reddish tea rose is the color I reach for most often, the one that goes with all my outfits and looks appropriate in any setting. It is a more moisturizing, less brown version of MAC Twig.

Forever Yours is nearly identical to Tender Love in intensity, minus the brown. A medium mauve, slightly cooler than Tender Love, so it requires a complementary cool-toned blush, whereas Tender Love goes with everything.


Night Romance is the coolest of the Fall 2009 trio, a medium-deep raspberry with a hint of brown. A half shade darker than Tender Love, and about the same coolness level as Forever Yours. Both Forever Yours and Night Romance look beeautiful beneath Love Always Deep Shine Lip Gloss, when the gloss.


Eternal Passion, a clear, bright Popsicle red, the ideal red for that French "no makeup" look when blotted down to a stain and worn with an overall nude face (just eyeliner and mascara).


Midnight Bloom is a slightly muted blue red, less bright than Eternal Passion, more of a cherry red. For a polished daytime look, I love wearing the Edward Bess red lipsticks with a light sweep of taupe shadow on lids and deep brown mascara.


It's getting a little easier to find Edward Bess products at retail counters if you live in big cities, but for those of us in smaller cities, we must rely on blogs, online swatches, and reviews. Some of my favorite places for swatches are The Beauty Look Book, London MakeUp Girl, The Non-Blonde, Blogdorf Goodman, and KarlaSugar. See also Prime Beauty, Fab Over 40, Pink Sith, and Modesty Brown, Cafe Makeup, as well as "Zuneta presents Edward Bess" on YouTube. With your research done there, you need only call Susan or Jennifer at Bergdorf Goodman in NYC, and one of them will help you decide on the perfect color(s) for you.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2010 4:08:00 PM More reviews by Maureen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

Of these I have tried 4 colors so far, and none of them are particularly flattering on my skintone (Sundown - death in a tube, Pure Impulse - too pinky cool for me, Tender Love - a tad darker than mlbb yet somehow translated as blah, Natural Seduction - does-nothing brown). So I feel I gave the neutrals a shot, and all were a miss. I have a feeling these were not at all made for someone with my undertones. Hmm. So a flower off for that.

Another flower off for the scent. Horrid scent. Keep-away scent. Strong old-lady scent. Really not something I want under my nose for any length of time.

Now the formulation is lovely. The pigment level is lovely. The time they last is lovely. All these warrant the other 3 flowers.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/2/2010 12:04:00 PM More reviews by Scrumpee

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Absolute high quality product, wears well, good finish, comfortable on lips, glides on perfectly, no waxy feel, not overly strong smelling (product is supposed to be fig scented but I detect no hint of fig but a generic mild fragrance). Pigmentation is good and colours are extremely wearable. Thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/30/2010 2:36:00 PM More reviews by Bianca80

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Love these. The color selection is fab for those who like neutrals or neutrals that pack a bit of a punch w/out looking obvious. I have a few colors but Secret Desire&TLove are my favorite colors. I will even use these as cream blush and they work great this way as well. EB finally came out recently w/ cream blushes that are HG(just a little FYI for those who love cream blush like myself).
These are so creamy,long lasting and keep the lips looking healthy&moist with color. The 'scent' is bearable(figs) and the packaging is that of a normal lippie.

I am very happy I found EB counter in NYC. Hr really makes some beautifully textured, lasting products with a great color selection. This line of Lippies I can't see someone not liking (unless they pick the wrong color). These will prolly be my "go to" Fall/Winter lippies

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No