November 22, 2014 | 1602 users online

Moisturizers - SkinActives/Skin Actives - Creme de la Mer kit



image 0

rated 4.5(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2012 4:01:00 PM More reviews by yjackson

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Absolutely love this cream. For $29 it will last me probably almost a year. I make mine with medium to light consistency and my skin "drinks" it right in... my face glows and I'm 50!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/26/2012 11:08:00 AM More reviews by bek7bek

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I just started using RetinA again. The "miracle" CDLM was the only moisterizer I could use on my raw skin. I wasn't really crazy about it, since it was a little too emoilient (oily) but it worked. Unfortunately, its just way too expensive. I just can't bring myself to buy it anymore.

I bought the SkinActives kit based on other MUA reviews. I love it. Not only can I control the oiliness (lack of) of the cream by mixing my own, I can add my own fragrance. I've been using 4 spatulas of canvas base cream, 3-4 of the kelp, 4-5 drops of anti-ox and a drop of whatever fragrance I decide I like that day. The results are a orangey cream that goes on more like a serum or the CDLM gel. It keeps my face hydrated and not oily. I've also been using this over the CHAS and Anti-ox serums that I bought with the serum quartet. No more oily skin half way thru the day. My pores are tighter, skin brighter, and I haven't had any breakouts.

I will definately rebuy this kit. Although overall, I don't think its a good CDLM replica, I think its actually much better than CDLM.

I also love the serum quartet...all of them. I didn't see a spot to put a review, so I'll include it here. I loved the CHAS serum immediately...it tightens ans smoothes and reminds me of an old favorite Aveda tourmaline serum. Trick is to use just enough to pat and smooth on skin...too much in my eye area made my eyeshadow flake. The DMAE was a wonderful suprise. Honestly, I didn't like the ELS the first time I used it...however it is a miracle serum to top my RetinA with at night. I've had all 4 of these sitting on my counter for the last several weeks. I can't pick a favorite...and I won't give any of them up haha.

Honestly, I feel more natural using these products.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2012 10:05:00 PM More reviews by Braethan

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to find skinactives and realize that I could actually make my own face cream that could be as effective as La Mer cream! And it is!
The canvas base cream itself is like silk. Once you make it up the way you like it will be one of the nicest things you've ever done for your skin.
I'm looking radiant and getting many nice compliments. I've also added some of their ready mixed products to my routine and I just love them all.
www.skinactives.com Go there, do some looking around and I bet you'll be intrigued. Great stuff. Honestly. And the prices are awesome.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/23/2012 2:27:00 PM More reviews by vk1981

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I recently bought the sea kelp bioferment...and am in love. I dont use the canvas base cream, instead I use First Aid Beauty's ultra repair cream as my base. It does not contain any parabens or allergens and works extremely well for my dry skin. Mix in a little vitamin C powder and/or aloe vera gel...Voila. All the goodness soaks up into the skin effortlessly.Even without the vitamin c powder, the cream mixture is awesome. Feels as if the skin is having a long cool drink of water on a hot parched day. I love how my skin looks...and that's saying something. My hormonal unevenly pigmented skin is a thing of the past. I hope I never have to live without this product!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2011 8:05:00 AM More reviews by madameesp

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this kit for two years and I love it. My skin is sensitive and this product doesn't cause any reddening or breakouts. It is very easy to mix the ingredients (actually it is fun!) and the product is excellent. I love the fragrance options that come with it. The cucumber melon fragrance is very clean and light. Why waste hundreds of dollars on La Mer when this kit costs $29 and has all the same active ingredients???? Also, their Dream Cream (body cream) is wonderful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2010 11:38:00 PM More reviews by exaudi33

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

The sea kelp bioferment has become a staple for me. After more than a year of use as an under moisturizer serum, the results show. And, purchasing retinol and ferulic acid to mix up your own cream is the greatest. What you have is a very high priced moisturizer for a fraction of the cost. I'm also using their Bright-I cream -- not bad! And, truth to be told, all the products are working better since I've been cleansing with Clarisonics. The money I saved with Skin Actives enabled the purchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/21/2009 9:46:00 PM More reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

""Warning to those sensitive to Parabens"""""""""'... the Canvas Cream in this kit contains parabens. So I passed on this kit and ordered Skinactives 'Dream Cream' and their Sea Kelp Bio-Ferment Gel separate. Best $50 I've ever spent.......... and their CS threw in an Anti-Roseaca Serum to boot! Can't ask for more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2008 4:33:00 PM More reviews by ripsgirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Oh my, I looove this! This is a do-it-yourself kit and is very easy to make and customize, no it's not exactly the same as CDLM but the sea kelp is similar to the active ingredients in CDLM and this does not have petrolatum as a base but uses some good stuff like jojoba ,avocado & sesame oils to name a few, also it has hyaluronic acid. You add to the base cream the Sea kelp bioferment and antioxidant drops and play with it until it's the consistency you want. It makes my skin so soft and radiant. I highly recommend skinactives, great products, fast shipping and reasonable prices . I use some of the ready made SAS serums and they are amazing!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/11/2008 3:07:00 AM More reviews by ocarina

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I loooove Skinactives, it indulges my inner alchemist and the results are products that are really good for skin. People with oily/acne skin, don't be put off by the oil content of this moisturizer... it is one of the quickest-absorbing creams you'll ever try. I use a 2:1 ratio of cream to sea kelp, along with the antiox booster, idebenone and beta glucan (the last two are not included with the kit but purchased separately in SA). This is a pleasure to apply, does not clog pores or leave grease stains on pillows (eeeewwww), and is gentle enough for use around the eyes. I really ought to leave well enough alone, but I can't help thinking that I will be concocting many more versions of this...

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2008 3:41:00 PM More reviews by scridsrolls

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

**UPDATE*
I've been using this cream for about a year, every other day or so. I would say it works better a serum, because with the ratio I chose, it's more water-based than cream-based, and it sometimes does need to be layered over with a more emollient moisturizer. My skin seems to really, really like this. It has a calming effect that does not irritate my keratosis pilaris/rosacea, (redness) and it seems to smooth and awaken the skin. I have been using other products along with this one, as well as a retinol product, so I honestly cannot credit any long-term benefits to this cream. But after a year I still like it, and plan to order it again.


A great alternative to Creme de lar Mer. Who is SkinActives? An online company that sells the active ingredients in many expensive skin care products. They allow you to purchase these, and kits, to make your own version of a product for much less money, and often with better results, due to the higher concentrations and tweaking you can control. Companies get a lot of flak for this kind of approach, but for those of us who can't afford the luxury of $100+ for something can get in on the action!!

This kit, for $29.50 plus $6.00 shipping, gave me 2 oz. of Sea Kelp bioferment, the main ingredient in Creme de la Mer, and 4 oz. of their Canvas base moisturizer. They also included two spare jars, spatulas, pipettes, two surfactants (in case you want to add the sea kelp to shampoo or bodywash), and two fragrances; peach and cucumber melon, as well as a vial of their antioxidant booster. Also includes instructions. To get more details on all of this, please visit their website.

The idea is that you mix up the sea kelp with the base cream to get the desired consistency. The canvas base cream is very rich and thick--it's got good stuff in it, site says: " rich moisturizer with hyaluronic acid and jojoba, avocado, sweet almond, and sesame oils." As for mixing, they have ratios to help guide you, depending on if you want more sea kelp, more moisturizer, etc. I opted for the medium consistency, which is like a regular lotion..not too runny, not too thick, because I planned to put this in a pump bottle. The mixing process is very fun and very "Mad Scientist." I had a blast doing this. I added a few drops of their antioxidant concentrate and fragrance, though these ingredients are fairly unscented and you really don't need frangrance to mask anything. The sea kelp bioferment (special la mer broth ingredient) is a clear gel that is known for its moisturizing and skin tightening properties.

After I mixed this up in a standard bowl, I funneled this into my Clinique Dramatically Different pump bottle that was empty and clean. The thing about the way SkinActives packages their stuff leaves it vulnerable to light and air, unfortunately. Anything with bioferment in it and antioxidants should be packaged in a lightsafe, airsafe container to maximize their benefits. So I ignored the jars that came with the kit and used the pump container. Then I painted the container black (acrylic paint) and layered pretty decoupage papers over it to make the container pretty! Kind of art-projecty I know, if you have a better alternative go for it, but this was fun for me. So I had my own creme de la mer in a light/air safe pump package.

As to the quality of the stuff itself? This will vary depending on the ratios you choose, but this stuff is great. It is NOT greasy. Does not leave any oily residue on my face. It soaks right in, and feels rich and cool. True to its properties, the sea kelp begins to tighten the skin. This may make you think your skin is dry and not moisturized enough, but its just the kelp firming things up. I do believe the effects are temporary. (sorry.) Makeup applies over this very well, because the moisturizer is not sticky! I apply sunscreen 30 over this and makeup still applies well..smoothly and evenly. This makes my skin feel hydrated and healthy. I really look forward to using it because I feel a moisturizing rush, similar to Clinique's MoistureSurge gel, when I apply it. Can't comment on long term affects yet; only been using for a few weeks. Will update in the future as to that.

But for the price, I got a kit that was fun to do, and four times as much product than traditional Creme de la Mer for only a quarter of the price. Quality ingredients come with the kit and I believe SkinActives is a reliable and trustworthy company. The ingredients in the la mer kit are NOT exactly the same as real creme de la Mer, but this stuff is still wonderful, and has many wonderful things in it that are highly beneficial to skin!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No