August 1, 2014 | 1957 users online

Mascara - Kanebo - KATE Magical Volume Gel mascara



image 0

rated 3.1(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 42% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/12/2013 6:33:00 AM More reviews by blythylively

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I had a terrible time with this gel mascara. doesn't hold my eyelashes' curl , my curled lashes were looking straight after I put on this mascara. I've only used it once and never opened again.

definitely one of the worst mascaras I've tried.

my mascara favs: maybelline (falsies/volume express), majolica (lash king/volumising), fairy drops

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2013 5:06:00 AM More reviews by MichikoFliz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim when the pharmacy I was in did not have my HG Majolica Marjorca mascara.

At first I hated this mascara because I found it too clumpy. But I found the trick to using it is that "less is more". I only use one coat and also using the convex side minimises major clumping. I guess it does volumise as the name suggests. It holds my curl well and when the water works happens, this flakes a little rather than becoming a streaky black stream down my face.

I probably wouldn't buy it again because I prefer the Majolica Majorca mascara, but it is a decent product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2012 9:42:00 PM More reviews by bailuli

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I also had problem with the product weighing my lashes down, but that only occurs if i curl lashes then apply the mascara by itself. Normally i use the Majolica bone lash fiber mascara base under it which definitely holds this up (though not as perfectly as a lighter weight mascara, but still holds it up, even after 2 coats).

but to backup a bit, this is definitely not a typical japanese mascara formula in that it is definitely thick and heavy and wet. GEL is actually a perfect description of it, as when I apply it, it felt like I applied a thick coat of glossy gel to my lashes. it could start clumping after the 2nd coat, but to be honest, one coat is plenty to give long and volumized lashes.

If I want to have so glamourous of lashes that it looks like i'm wearing falsies, I go to this with a mascara base under it, because holy crap does it work wonders. The curved brush also helps a great deal, as using it on the concave side really adheres to the lashes all the way around the curve.

Also as it's not a fiber based formula, i never have ANY issues with fibers falling into my eyes (Lash Expander Frame Plus...*sigh* )

HOWEVER, one lippie down for the potential clump factor, as if it starts to dry too much, further applications will probably clump. 2nd lippie off for the lack of curl holding power, the weight, and the fact that for asians with thin straight lashes, you MUST use a good mascara base under it. considering how many great japanese mascaras there are out there who can do this without another base under it, it puts the KATE volume gel at a major disadvantage

To be absolutely honest, if i finish all my tubes of japanese mascaras, i might actually repurchase this. but i won't be using it daily as it's just that dramatic. furthermore the fact that i have to get a separate base does put me off a little. But i will say that the formula really is volumizing, also quite lengthening, and the result is freakin amazing...if you do all the extra work.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/25/2011 8:17:00 AM More reviews by reminisceem

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the packaging, it's sleek and all that stuff! I've always wanted to try out a drugstore mascara that's gel based and I'm so glad I found this! I always have a bad habit of not using my mascaras after a few tries BUT I stayed on to this mascara.

It doesn't flake or transfer any product on my eyelids so this is definately a must try :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/17/2011 2:15:00 PM More reviews by cinnamongingersnaps

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Black

2011, the mascara wand has changed since the 2008 edition. The name for this product in my market is KANEBO KATE VOLUME GEL. Overall a good mascara that doesn't smudge even in 33 degree celsius heat and extreme humidity. I live in the tropics with hot, humid weather all year round. The wand is rather small for a volume mascara but it gives good control for Asian eyes. some may complain about clumpiness, but the trick is to use the convex side of the brush to comb through your lashes, then you will get well coated and non-clumpy lashes. The formula as described is a gel formula, in my 13-hour long wear it did not flake or smudge all over my lower eyelid, so that's good enough for me. Takes a little longer to dry (about 10 seconds), but the effect is good when it finally dries. I used waterproof eye make-up remover to clean it off. But I think the packaging says it removes with warm water and soap, have not tried that way of removing it, but I usually don't just use water and soap to clean my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/26/2011 4:14:00 PM More reviews by jillinnyc

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't have the problems mentioned by fleckenschnitte; maybe because mine is the newest 2011 version.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/8/2008 1:43:00 PM More reviews by fleckenschnitte

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

***Click CONTINUED to view pics ***
Yea I know I know....I said Japanese brands make the best mascaras.... well even the ingenious guys at Kanebo can come up with crap and unfortunately Kate's newest mascara is an example for that.
Honestly, away from Kate's Curl Volume waterproof mascara I didn't like any of the other Kate mascaras I tried (like the glossy one, the regular waterproof one and a few others... I can't remember the exact names)... Either they weighed my lashes down or were too natural or clumped or any other thing you don't want your mascara to do.
I had high hopes for their new Magical Volume Gel mascara. "Gel" sounded like a lightweight, not too wet texture and Magical Volume sounded like big dramatical lashes.
I am sad to report that this is a wet mascara that weighs down my delicately curled lashes right away. I HATE that. I hate when I use my curler and mascara base and have pretty curled-up lashes and then I apply my mascara and I can see how the lashes start drooping down right away. I also don't see a lot of volume...more of a 5-lashes result (you know when they stick together in bundles).
This mascara comes with a strange plastic applicator. It's not a brush nor a comb. It's like a stick of plastic with small ridges. I can work with it but I can't deal with that formula.
The tube itself is a rectangular glossy black tube. Quite cool and edgy.
Shiseido makes better mascaras...sorry Kanebo! But that's the truth! Majolica Majorca and Maquillage makes the best mascaras in my opinion (as of Feb 2008 =P)

There's only black for the time being. You will pay somewhere around US$15-16 online or quite a bit less in Japan if you want to try this yourself.
In defense of Kanebo I should add that the Kate Mascara Base S is great! It holds my curl well and does add some good length and volume. I would rather try this than the mascara =)

continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No