October 31, 2014 | 859 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Sonia Kashuk - Bristle Hair Brush



image 0

rated 4.0(59 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/2/2013 9:10:00 AM More reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really tried liking this brush, as I could never think of paying 100-some dollars for a Mason Pearson Boar Bristle Brush. I paid about $15 for this Sonia Kashuk bristle brush in Target. It looks exactly as the Mason Pearson does, just beautiful.

My problem with this brush might be due to my hair type. I have thick curly-wavy hair, and the bristles never really get all the way through. They structure of the brush is so that you have long plastic bristles covering 50% and boar-like synthetic bristles for the other 50%. The long plastic bristles are so much longer than the others, so they are the only ones to touch my scalp. So, in order to brush my hair, I have to press the brush hard into my scalp. I read these same concerns from another user recently.

All in all, the structure of the brush hairs makes it useless. Perhaps, this brush is a perfect dupe for those with fine hair. For me, this was a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/24/2013 10:18:00 PM More reviews by misslu990

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Not a fan. I bought the small travel size brush to throw in my purse whenever I needed to fix my hair. This makes my hair frizzy and wiry whenever I run it through. The plastic is cheap as far as the bristles go. It's supposed to be half boar bristles half plastic but it just doesn't cut it for me. It doesn't smooth my hair , it just makes it worse. Especially whe I straighten my hair. I like how the brush looks but so far its just a waste of money for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/13/2012 11:57:00 AM More reviews by malu22

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this two weeks after I got my mason pearson just for comparison. This looks exactly like my MP handy brush except for the handle. Head size, length and look of bristles are the same. One big difference though compared to MP is, MP pneumatic cushion works. This one the cushion is hard. Even if you push the bristles hard to move the cushion inward, the cushion hardly budges. Spornette cushion moves a little. Denman's cushion is as hard as this brush. Also this has a strong burnt rubber smell that my MP and Denman doesn't have. Spornette Luxury has a mild burnt rubber smell. This is also a lot scratcher than MP. MP is the most gentle to the scalp, then Denman ( but does not quite reach my scalp ), then Spornette Luxury and this brush comes last. All of the brushes here I mentioned are mixed bristles. IMO if you are in a budget or just don't want to pay the high price tag of MP, for thin or medium thickness hair Denman is your best bet. For thick hair, I would go with Spornette Luxury. If you have money to spare I would still get the MP. It has all the reasons why it cost that much. If this brush doesn't have that strong smell and doesn't feel too scratchy on my scalp ( I may have more sensitive scalp than other people ) this would have been a good alternative to MP.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2012 8:54:00 PM More reviews by tristinbrittany

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This brush I great. I use it for everything, blow drying, back combing, and smoothing out curls when styling for weddings. I just wish the handle was longer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/21/2012 6:19:00 AM More reviews by kngfrank

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Love this brush. I really wanted an MP but it's way out of my price range so I got this instead. It really helps distribute the oil in my hair to make it shiny and allows me to get by another day without washing. Highly recommend!

*Edit: I still like this brush a lot but came back to take a star off because the bristles started to bend within a month of moderate use. Still one of the better boar bristle brushes I've used.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2012 11:53:00 AM More reviews by MsScarlet

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've owned the Sonia Kashuk brush for about 2 months. I do not own a Mason Pearson brush to compare the two, but I have to say I really like this brush so far. The full size is nice for my short but abundant hair. This brush isn't designed as a detangling brush so it's not particularly good at wrestling through knotty hair; I detangle with a wide tooth comb anyway so it's not a problem for me.

I use this brush two different ways:
Pre-shower: I flip my head upside and brush my hair and scalp, concentrating on the scalp then moving down the hair shaft. The boar bristles really seem to loosen up the buildup so I get a really good shampoo.

Post shower: I brush my hair with this brush after I blow dry and style my hair as a final touch. The brush does an excellent job smoothing down my hair and spreading the oils from my scalp to the ends of my hair. I've noticed that since using this brush every day my in-between shampoo days are far more tolerable. Because the bristles spread the oil from my scalp so well it helps to alleviate the "greasy scalp" feeling I used to get when I didn't wash my hair.

Overall this brush is pretty great for what I use it for.

However--I am knocking one star off of this review and warning fellow MUAers to exercise caution when washing/disinfecting this brush. I washed the brush for the first time using my typical routine: scrub the brush head with a mild shampoo, rinse with warm water, then soak the brush in a solution of vinegar and warm water for 20 minutes to disinfect. My other brushes came out fine, but following the vinegar and water soak I noticed that the coating covering the plastic handle was flaking off. Some of the black paint is flaking off as well. As far as I can tell the glue holding the brush together is fine and the brush itself is in one piece, but time will tell.

So a word of advice: when you wash this brush don't use vinegar to disinfect and/or skip the disinfecting altogether if you want your brush to remain in good quality.

Besides that minor setback, the Sonia Kashuk is my favorite brush of the moment!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/29/2012 5:24:00 AM More reviews by sourrcherry

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got the hot pink/lime green LE one. I love this brush! Instead of snagging and pulling out my hair, it seems like it gently untangles..which I also love! I gave it 4/5 because it causes a lot of fly aways. I already had a problem with those and wasn't looking for something to increase it. The bristles also hurt my scalp, rather than feel great like some people have said. However I think the pros of this brush are more important. I'm going to buy the big version soon, and my other hair brushes will soon see a trash! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2012 6:20:00 PM More reviews by reihnaxox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i love this brush. i purchased the smaller size to bring everywhere, because i didnt want to carry my precious Mason Pearson junior around. the length of the nylon bristles catches my hair well, stimulates my scalp and distributes the oil down to my ends, so my hair looks much less greasy and more healthy. the rounded handle gives a comfortable grip too. although the actual boar bristles are not up to par with my Mason Pearson's this brush is still a great buy, and should be a staple for those who want great hair. i use this brush more often to quickly smooth out my hair, but i use my Mason Pearson as more of a hair treatment, using slower strokes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2012 12:06:00 PM More reviews by jocox88

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This brush gets rave reviews everywhere and, they are comparing it to a very expensive Mason Pearson! I love this brush (and I own two Mason Pearson brushes as well). However, I have two of these and one seems to be losing too many of the boar bristles. I notice when I clean the brush, little broken-off pieces of boar are in the sink. I put the brushes side-by-side last week and noticed that one looks very thick with boar bristles and the other has a lot of broken off boar and just the remaining synthetic. I'm buying another as I'm sure this was just a bad one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/25/2011 11:49:00 PM More reviews by linhle777

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was compared by Allure as the closest thing to the Mason Pearson. Since the Mason Pearson is so expensive I figured it must be good. This brush feels awesome. My hair is really long I need something that won't be painful to brush through to detangle and this really works my hair feels good. I bought the bigger one and it is only $14.99 That is a pretty good deal

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No