December 18, 2014 | 1402 users online

Lipstick - Cle de Peau - Extra Silky Lipstick



image 0

rated 4.7(49 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/1/2012 7:59:00 AM More reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this in #109 and as others have said its the BEST rosy pink shade ever!!! For reference, I'm NC15-20, asian with neutral undertones as I can pull off both warm and cool colors. Whenever I wear this my face is brightened and I just look more radiant and glowy. It looks awesome with purple/pink e/s and Chantecaille's Joy blush as its a nice cool/neutral pink. I've received plenty of compliments with this look. Its natural yet stunning. The texture of this lipstick is like butter...pure butter. Its extremely soft and silky (as name mentions). Feels awesome on the lips. I love everything about it but i wouldn't repurchase because it retails for $65 Cdn, and I just don't think any lipstick should cost that much. I'll stick to my Estee Lauder Pure Colour lipsticks which are far superior in quality and much more economical.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2012 2:35:00 PM More reviews by Parsol

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Other, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This product has just been reformulated. You now buy the empty tube and refill as needed. The formula has also changed. I liked the former product but was not able to use it because I could not be colour matched, I needed 6 clicks to get enough colour (that didn't suit me anyway) - and I have never suited a glossy finish - frankly I look somewhat "cheap" with a gloss finish. But the stuff would not end up on teeth. I haven't heard any comments yet re the new formulation - my SA was not given testers. I tend to keep up on these things due to several allergies and colour problems.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/25/2012 10:36:00 AM More reviews by gracielet

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Bottom line: ladies, think very hard before you get caught up in the hype and spend more than you can afford on these, because they are glosses with almost no color, and there are a lot of good glosses out there in nice packaging (even prestige luxury brands) that cost less.
I have a very high opinion of Cle de Peau -two of my HGs are their concealer and the sadly now discontinued Translucent Corrector for Pores (happily I have 2, and it lasts a long time and does not seem to go bad!).
I read about the Extra Silky Lipsticks here and have been very good about spending on makeup, so I decided to treat myself. I did not go to a store to buy them (or I would not have bouoght them). I researched colors online by looking at lots of swatches and reading lots of reviews, and ended up buying 2 from ebay: discontinued 14, and new color 131. I am a PPP with very UNpigmented lips - people tell me they can tell if I am tired because my lips turn almost white. So I try to wear lipstick all the time! Well, they have a lot of nerve calling these things "lipsticks" - they are glosses, glosses with more pigment than Chanel glossimers, but still glosses. If I slather it on, it brings my almost white lips up to the color of other people's bare lips (only shiny). The colors I chose are 2 of the most pigmented of the shades. I will be using these either as lip balm at bedtime (as they apparently moisturize quite well) or as gloss over lipstick (I don't usually bother with gloss).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2012 10:19:00 AM More reviews by pmnixa

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just got this yesterday - usually I wait a while before writing reviews but in this case I think I know - it's awesome! I purchased the 105 shade, which is a light peachy pink (like NARS Niagara only about 2 shades lighter). It's pigmented (compared to Chante lip chics, more pigmented). The formula is just amazing. It is more slippery but less goopy than the Lip Chics. It feels similar to the Dior Addict Lip Shines in that regard. Of course this type of lippie wears off quickly especially if you eat or drink. Doesn't irritate my lips at all. Im in love. Now if only this wasn't about $50 usd I'd buy more (106 is now calling my name, a shade similar to 105 but a bit cooler).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/10/2011 12:46:00 PM More reviews by ElegantStyle

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I got a tester of this when I went to repurchase the concealer. This is very soft lipstick that is more like soft butter formulation. #129 was put on me and it was very sheer that I can't even describe the color. My sample is #130 and this is very sheer also that you can't tell what the color is, but when I put it on very thick, that is when I noticed that #130 shade is not for me. Extra Silky lipstick is better then Chantecaille Lip Chic and Chanel Rouge Coco Shine, but the staying power is not great and Extra Silky is perfect for the winter season when your lips tend to be more dry.
I really need to go back to Cle de Peau counter and take a closer look at the colors to get the right shade, but I will purchase a full tube.
UPDATE: I went back to purchase #129 and I'm happy I did. My rating is high on quality, texture, but the staying power is low and I think I could go through this in a week or so. As for the packaging, it is easy to have it smeared on the tube and it looks messy. Four stars for this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2011 8:39:00 AM More reviews by Principessa1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Once i really excited to try extra silky lipstick. The first thing that i tried at the counter was this cle de peau extra silky lipstick. mm, buut i don't like it..its too sheer for me, and too glossy. So i passed on this, and tried extra rich lipstick. I ended up buying Extra rich lipstick in R3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/31/2011 4:34:00 PM More reviews by Sarasotagirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Alas, every bit as good as they say. But whether you need to pay $26/g for a glossy, sheer lipstick might depend on your needs.


I bought two off of evilBay for far, far less than the $52 suggested retail, 102 and 120, both colors that have been discontinued (which is how they ended up on that auction site). 102 is a "cognac brown," or rather, a rusty red on me, very like the lost and lamented MAC Overload or maybe Lipstick Queen Saint Rust. 120 is a honey nude, a very sheer beige, almost invisible on my lips. I have bought multiple versions of this color over the years; Dior Addict Nude and Becca Gisella are merely the latest.


Both lipsticks are gloriously smooth and glossy, deliciously weightless on. Very, very nice. These are essentially nonsticky lipglosses in a (nonretractable) swivel tube, as others have noted. Both wear astonishingly well -- I get nearly two hours of gloss and another hour of stain (as long as I don't eat). No other sheer lipstick I own -- and I think I have most of the current contenders -- can do that. The Extra Silkies wear better than Lip Chics, Dior Addicts, Rouge Coco Shines, Nars Velvet Gloss, etc., etc. My Guerlain Rouge Automatiques wear as well, but they are not nearly as glossy and are really a different animal.


What has thrilled me even more is how beautiful the rusty red, 102, looks on me. At age 50, I have stopped wearing red lipsticks, for the most part. I can get good formulas to look nice on me at my dressing table -- but then I catch a glimpse of myself an hour or two later in the ladies' room and I'm horrified at how the formula has sunk into my (otherwise unnoticeable) lip lines. I don't look sexy or sophisticated -- I look sad. The Extra Silky looks ... luscious. It fills out my lips evenly -- and then it wears off *perfectly evenly*, leaving just the loveliest stain. No freaky darker vertical stripes, no bleeding around the edges. It is astonishing.


So, if money were no object, heck yes, I'd buy these for every sheer or semi-sheer lipstick need. But money IS an object to me, so I think I will reserve buying this for deeper and bolder colors that require the very best formula modern chemistry can offer. For sheer nudes and MLBBs, I don't need to pay CdP prices, I don't think. And if you still have lovely full lips without any wrinkling, you could -- I *think* -- live without this. (Not that I'm saying you should deny yourself, just that you might be satisfied with a slightly less expensive formula.)

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/15/2011 11:06:00 PM More reviews by vmalenfant

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I purchase #104 on a trip to Las Vegas with a Serge Lutens perfume. I wanted something special and hard to find in Canada. I do not know why I chose extra silky lipstick but I liked the easy going color, a warm brick red. The formula is great I will say the staying power is better then Dior and is more moisturizing. I prefer CdP formula but Dior packaging.
As for the price, if you are used to buy luxury brand well, you expect that price why act surprise? as for people who consider MAC as high-end well CdP is really not in the same category LOL!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/4/2011 3:12:00 AM More reviews by Sarahbear87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I adore these!!!!! I have 3 of them 111, 125, and 128! They r all gorgeous it just depends on my mood one is more like natural -111 te 125 like soft/ feminine and 128 like pops. I used 125 for my wedding, I told the makeup artist like " oh don't worry about the lips I have something in mind already" n she loved it ! Anyways I am always asked what I am wearing because my lips always look like "juicy" n have nice color, I despise lip gloss!!! This gives the benefits of lip gloss without giving the sticky grossness! I used to always wear a pretty Mac color called plumful and farmed on top and constantlyreapplying carmex cuz my lips r dry and plus I'm OCD about it. But now I just reapply after I eat or kiss or whatever cuz it stays juicy looking! I remember some girl asked how much they were n had never heard of the brand n I held my three lipsticks n I couldn't believe I was holding $150 worth of makeup! I
Am a makeup snob n will pay top dollar for beat quality and I think this so worth it!!! And I love the sophisticated packaging vs my hideous carmex tube

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/12/2011 5:41:00 PM More reviews by Beaumonde

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Ridiculously priced. Lovely shades. Utilitarian-looking packaging.


The staying and moisturising power are considerable. Though if you're asking laughably exorbitant prices for A LIPSTICK, it had BETTER be immensely better than other lipsticks - that's only reasonable.



There are comparable lipsticks out there but for the hopelessly gullible, gauchely-naive and insecure labelistas who insist on having the Serge Lutens Seal of Approval, this is made for you. I can rarely justify such a purchase except as an occasional indulgence. In a blind test of lipsticks this would rate well but by no means tops, that privilege belonging to YSL Rouge Volupte or Chanel's Allure.



I have visions of Serge Lutens laughing to himself somewhere out there while visons of bank balances dance in his head. GENIUS under-the-radar marketing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No