Ardell Surgi Wax Brazilian Waxing Kit

4.2

31 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/18/2015 12:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the microwavable surgi brazilian waxing kit (blue box with orange and yellow stripes on it)

This is great. I use this under my arms, on my upper lip, and my bikini line. I've been using this wax for years and nothing is as good!! I have a Gigi wax warmer that sits in the back of my closet.
The kit comes with wax and pre-oil (and I think it comes with wooden sticks?) I don't use the oil. The wax tub has a little handle on the side which I really like!
If I do my whole wax routine (lip, armpits, bikini) I can usually get 2 or 2.5 uses out of this tub which is great because it's soooo inexpensive. I save sooo much money and can do this in my own home! I prefer the thicker hard-wax consistency. I think it's so much better than thin wax or pre-waxed strips (those suck!)
I haven't broken out from this and I get almost no ingrown hairs (I get tons w/ shaving these areas)

More Tips:
-I use baby powder on my skin before I wax just to soak up any sweat/oil on my skin and it helps grab the hairs easier. this tip is great when doing underarms bc the hot wax always makes me sweat a little bit.
-I use baby oil to help get stuck wax off my skin or counter or whatever. Sometimes putting melted wax over the stuck wax then ripping it off like normal picks it up, but other-times you get a stubborn area and the wax gets stuck and you gotta use the oil to clean it up.
Your skin will be a little pink so do this before bed or when you're not going out in public. -Resist the urge to put tons of products and makeup on your skin right after waxing! Just let it be!
-This wax gets all the hair off! It's great! But, if your hair isn't used to being waxed, it might not get all the hair off at first (this happens with many waxes and even at salons). * Resist going over the same area multiple times because that hurts your skin. Just accept that you didn't get all the hair this time, it's just because your body isn't used to wax, and next time it'll be better. You don't want to irritate the skin!
-Yes, it hurts, but just for a second. Be quick and don't think about the pain or ripping it off, just do it! Don't bother with numbing creams, they're a waste of money and you can handle the pain!! It's totally worth it because the results last a long time, it gets easier and quicker, I promise, and this really is the best wax I've ever used!! Microwave wax is sooo much better than pre-waxed strips that you warm up in your hands...don't waste your time with that. That sally hansen and nair and organic crap do nothing.

I'm not a professional, but here's what I do:
-Take a shower in the morning and scrub the areas you're going to wax, then wax at night time. using a scrub opens up the area and reduces the risk of ingrown hairs and waiting the whole day lets your skin get back to normal and waxing at night means you dont have to go outside all red...and after waxing you'll be ready to go to sleep lol! If you do get ingrowns, I really recommend TendSkin. put some on a cotton ball. it helps! Don't put on any lotion or skincare before you wax bc it will interfere w/ the wax's performance
-When I'm ready to wax I warm this wax up in the microwave for longer than they recommend (they recommend a short period of time to reduce the risk of people getting burnt, but to get it all melted you have to warm it up for a few minutes then let it cool off so you don't get burnt. this leaves a short window for you to wax, but don't rush bc you can just go re-warm it in the microwave which isn't as big of a pain as it sounds)
-I use muslin cloth/paper (The box says you don't need them, which you don't, and I know people say you shouldn't use strips with wax like this, but it's easier for me) I cut the paper into smaller, easier to use sections. then I carefully dip the paper in the tub of melted wax at an angle so it gets on once side, as I slowly take it out of the tub I wipe off the excess on the side/rim of the tub. so now i just have a thin layer of wax (i can't see the cloth through the paper, but it's still not too thick)
-I apply the wax coated paper to the hairy area and kind of drag it a little bit in the direction of the hair growth so it coats the hairs really well, then after a few seconds (more than 10 but less than 30) when the wax cools I rip it off against the direction of hair growth. rip really quickly! Don't rip up, kind of rip backwards and parallel to the skin (not perpendicular), it causes less tugging on the skin and therefore less pain. after waxing, it sometimes helps to reduce pain by adding pressure on the area. just firmly place your hand there for a few seconds. but keep in mind your pores are very open and you should really have clean skin!
-I've gotten good and quick at it to where I'll apply one strip, then another; and by the time I finish applying the second strip, the first one is ready to be ripped off and that makes it go by quick

I suggest going to a professional if it's your first time waxing. It is a lot less nerve-racking, probably will hurt a little less, and it's better to get comfortable and have a good first wax experience. Wait as long as you need until you're comfortable waxing at home.
I've found it hurts less the more you do it. It doesn't hurt as much as you think it will, and it only hurts for a second and the results last for weeks! Totally worth it!!
1/4 inch is the perfect length for coarse hair. if it's too long, trim it. I usually wait a week or so for my hair to grow this long (I swear this is the worst part about waxing lol) The no-stubble for weeeekkksss is worth it!
My underarms were dark even after I shaved...waxing fixed this!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! HG PRODUCT



on 7/10/2015 12:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

So without too much TMI lets see if I can write a proper review.

About my hair type. (Already a bit TMI) From when I was getting a brazilian wax, from actual Brazilians, I was told that I had less coarse hair, and much less of it (If I needed to wear a bikini a slight trim in length is all I need, no side work) So for all those Asians that might want to DIY Brazilian, this works perfectly fine with our hair type.

This was my first attempt at Brazilian and I love it. It's not quick by any means when you first start but you speed up a lot as you do it more often. I've also tried the Gigi microwave version and I hate it. The Surgi wax hardens but it's still sorta pliable so you can have a good grip on it when you rip off the wax. It's not soft, but it's not brittle like the Gigi one when it dries. The Gigi one tends to snap or break when I'm ripping off the strip, so I have to do smaller sections. I also don't use cloth strips with the wax. I find that if I get a good amount of wax right at the bottom edge it forms a good size lip for me to grip it with. Also to decrease the amount of trips to the microwave, work in sections, especially on the top of the brazilian. I do sections going downward and apply three sections of wax roughly 1 inch by 2 inch with a section of hair in between. So when the third section is applied, the first is almost ready to be removed. This is harder to do further down cause you don't want to get stick together, so take that area more slowly. So here are some tips I found when first starting to DIY this. Happy waxing!

Tips:
1.) Try getting this done professionally first. You get a general idea of how it's done and the pain threshold. Cause we aren't professionals it tends to hurt a bit more doing it ourselves. Also there is a bit of a strange self brazilian waxing tutorial on youtube. It's very informative if you don't mind someone a woman naked.
2.) Please, please, please, trim your hair down to roughly 1/4 inch in length. Use one of those bikini shavers or even carefully go through with a comb and scissors. When I'm much less thorough with the trim, it hurts so much worst.
3.) The oil they provide is amazing. Use roughly 1/4 the bottle per waxing.
4.) Buy extra sticks. You can find them at beauty supply stores for around 5 for $1 or even use the popsicle kind from craft store if they're smooth enough with no splinters.
5.) Lay down a old towl/tshirt in front of a mirror and also have a light source handy when doing the area further down. Have the wax pot on top of a newspaper/paper towel so any drippings can just be thrown away.
6.) Don't exfoliate for 24 hours after. To prevent ingrowns treat with Tend Skin or any other Salicylic Acid liquid. I use Paula's Choice BHA 2% Liquid as well.


on 3/30/2015 10:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This might be TMI, but we are reviewing a brazilian waxing kit here ;)

So I love this wax. It comes with the pre-epilation oil which i think helps a lot. It really adheres to every little hair down there, if it's coarse or not. It makes it perfectly smooth if you do it properly! I do advise using strips, though. I find it a lot easier to smooth on the hot wax, then apply a cotton strip and letting it dry for about a minute or two before ripping it off. Especially since that area is SO sensitive and a little tricky to do ourselves, I feel like grabbing a strip is a lot easier than trying to peel the wax off. If you use a strip, make sure you apply the wax and then the strip immediately afterwards so that it sticks.

Also, I heated it up in my microwave for like 4 minutes, not 1 minute like it recommends.

The only con I have is that there isn't a whole lot in the jar. I go through about 2/3 a jar per waxing session.

But i love it, and i recommend it, opposed to other Veet/Nair products :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2014 7:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this wax! Before when I used to wax my junk, I used to get the wax that comes with a ton of strips to use, cause I always thought it wouldn't work that well to just pull the wax without a paper strip. Well, my friends mom swears by this stuff and has been using this for years. I went and bought some, and it was the easiest and least messy bikini wax ever! I've been using this exclusively now. What's kind of crazy is that it's actually cheaper at Ulta than Sally's! Something that never happens!
I also love to use this for my arm pits, I just did that a few minutes ago actually.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've dabbled in diy soft waxing (with the strips) before, but heard hard wax was a better way to remove thick hair - namely in the bikini zone. I was going to try GiGi because everyone raves about it, but I didn't know if I'd like hard wax, and I didn't want to spend the money on a wax warmer straight out of the gate.

This was sitting next to it on the shelf at Sally's, and was marketed as a "microwavable" formula, so I thought I'd give this a shot first. This is a great first-time hard waxing product. It wasn't super stringy, and not anywhere near as sticky as traditional soft wax. And it's very reasonably priced ($7 for me). It actually did remove my thick bikini hair, which no diy soft wax has done to this point. I was impressed with the results and how easy it was to use.

Now the only drawback - because it is a microwavable formula, be prepared to take a few trips back and forth to reheat -- and by the time I was almost done with the jar, the consistency got a bit gummy from the reheating, and wasn't removing hair as well. I was forced to give up because it was like bubblegum. Having a wax warmer would definitely mitigate this.

I will probably buy a GiGi warmer and kit in the future, but I can't argue with a quick $7 purchase to get rid of bikini hair. I will definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used Gigi honey strip wax with a warmer and I can tell you this beats it! MUCH better for Brazilian wax. I will never strip wax down there again! This is painless, yes, really! Removes almost all the hair and super simple. I will repurchase!

Sit on a towel in front of a mirror, take some tylenol prior to starting, put on some music and get going. Yes, you will have to run to the microwave throughout to keep the wax smooth. The best thing is to work in small sections and use the oil...do not forget! When it is time to rip after 30-50 seconds, take a deep breath and think about something else and JUST PULL! I promise it is not painful! Anyone can do this!


on 4/10/2013 8:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the best wax I've used for my underarms and, trust me, I've tried it all. I love that it's strip-less, has a nice "spa" smell, and is just darn effective! I briefly tried GiGi microwave, strip-less wax (which is significantly more expensive) and found it to be nowhere in the realm of Surgi. I have also used this for the bikini area and it's excellent for my ultra-sensitive skin. This is my HG wax for now!


on 8/24/2012 1:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I prefer to use this wax than to get it professionally done. I've heard some people say they get crazy ingrowns with this stuff, but I get crazy ingrowns no matter what so it makes no difference to me.
Just make sure yours comes with the oil. If it's missing the oil then God help you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2012 11:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Hooooooly moly this stuff is tenacious. The pre-epilation oil is a MUST. I am a veteran of both salon and DIY Brazilians and have been using the MOOM sugaring kit w/muslin strips for over a year now. This blows that stuff out of the water in terms of hair removing ability. I barely ever had to go back and re-do a section unless I had applied the wax improperly to begin with--incomplete removal of the hair was invariably operator error and no fault of the product itself.

Do not skimp when you apply this. You want a nice, thick layer so you can flick an edge up using your fingernail and "zip" it off, pulling back (parallel to the skin) and not directly upward. Do not pull upward. You will be very unhappy with yourself if you do.

I microwaved this for about a minute until I achieved a honey-like consistency, slathered on the pre-epilation oil, and used one of those funny little spatulas to slather on a generous layer of wax on a roughly 2 x 5cm rectangluar area of hair-down-there. It looked like it was spread a little thin so I waited for the wax to set a bit before adding a little more wax to thicken the layer. I waited for the wax to cool enough for it to be peeled off in one clean piece, then flicked up the distal edge with my fingernail and used one hand to hold the skin taut while I peeled the strip off quickly in the opposite direction.

After a short string of profanities, I stared at my first peeled-off strip of wax and marveled in grotesque satisfaction at how utterly COVERED in hair it was, and at what a wonderful bald spot it had left behind. It was not covered in broken hairs or hairs torn off at the root like some other, FAR WUSSIER strip waxes--no, upon closer examination, each and every hair had a little root still attached to it. SO GROSS BUT SO IMMENSELY SATISFYING. Don't act like you don't know what I mean.

I am a convert. This is messier and harder to clean up than MOOM because it is not water soluble (I was picking the stuff out from underneath my nails for the rest of the evening) but it is much better at removing hair. The pre-epilation oil is an absolute must, and it also helps with clean-up. Be generous with the oil, as this stuff is stringy and may go places you don't want it to, especially as you are getting the hang of using it.

As the waxing session progressed it seemed like the strips were taking longer to cool to "peelable" temperature (possibly due to increased blood flow and general manhandling of the skin). Perhaps next time I will use a cold can of beer to aid cooling and solidification of the wax.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2012 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not bad for my first at-home Brazilian wax experience! First off, I would only recommend doing your own brazillian after you've had at least a few done professionally. I've been getting these done for years, so I've seen (and felt) how the wax is applied and removed from the surface area. It really helps! The pre-epilator oil was a huge help in making the process less painful. Like many have said, the wax does get a bit messy, so I suggest sitting on an old towel that you don't mind getting wax on. The first strip of wax I peeled off was definitely a shock, but I have a pretty high tolerance for pain so it was more of a 'holy crap, I can't believe i'm doing this myself' shock. Lol. Just make sure you pull it in the opposite direction that your hair grows and as fast as you can and you're good to go! Overall, I'm extremely happy with my results. Saved me a (pricy) trip to the salon and it left a very clean look! Will buy again.




Top Rated Ardell Products

Back to Top