July 30, 2014 | 1896 users online

Conditioner - Philip Kingsley - Moisture Balancing Conditioner



image 0

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2014 8:37:00 AM More reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have had to change my review of this after further use. Initially it seemed fine, but over time I found my hair was tangling a lot. Something about it makes my hair seem to stick together and knot, which is something it's never ever done with any other product. I've gone back to John Masters.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2014 10:15:00 AM More reviews by mellouise

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I use this with PK Body Building shampoo. I have fine, fair, oily hair. It smells a bit like patchouli to me (yum!) which is at odds with all the other PK smells apart from Maximiser. I love it because it provides a deep and meaningful condition to your hair - helps mine to not frizz. It is also lightweight and doesn't impart any greasiness. Compared to Body Building conditioner, this is nearly as light but much more effective - I still get wispy hair with that. Available in the UK at M&S and QVC.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2012 4:28:00 AM More reviews by hannah1981

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm really happy with this and the matching moisture balancing shampoo. I have long, fine, highlighted, tangley hair, which can be hard work! The shampoo and conditioner are really gentle, don't add build up and leave it feeling soft, silky and clean. Will continue to buy this range (I'm on my 3rd bottle), along with the Elastisizer. Its always a good idea to try smaller bottles first before splashing out, and Philip Kingsley does a travel kit containing mini bottles of this range.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/11/2012 3:53:00 AM More reviews by missemd

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is without a doubt my H.G conditioner!

I have fine, chemically processed hair which also has a slight wave and nothing has ever made my hair feel as soft or as easy to manage as this conditioner.

You don't need to apply too much and it instantly makes your hair feel soft and silky even before you have rinsed it out.

I see below one reviewer has mentioned the silicone content but I honestly didn't notice any problems in regard to that.
I definitely found when I used the Frederic Fekkai Technician Colour Care conditioner that it was like a mask of silicone washing over my face when I rinsed out my hair - and this is nothing like that.

I also suffer from the occasional patch of psoriasis in my scalp when I have used a product with too many silicones etc in it and after a month of exclusively using P.K products I have had no problems.

This conditioner does not smell great - it has what I call a 'masculine' fragrance which is the only thing I would change about this product.

To try this product out I first purchased the 'Jet-Set' pack from Strawberrynet (I too wanted to try the Elasticizer but ended up loving the shampoo and conditioner much more!) but I have since found that UK Hairdressers to be a much more reasonable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2010 12:48:00 PM More reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this conditioner as part of the Jet Set kit (I wanted to try Elasticizer) & used the included conditioner & shampoo in tandem w/the treatment.


I like the conditioner a lot but I am not a fan of its silicone content (I'm trying to avoid it) so I really don't know whether I'd give it another go-round after I finish this small bottle... I would like to, it works really nicely & it's improving the texture & behavior of my damaged hair, but the silicone... ugh.


Presently it detangles my hair beautifully, it takes a MUCH smaller amount to slip through my hair than 99% of all other conditioners I've ever tried (the other 1% are conditioners I loved & worked just as well but have all been discontinued), sinks into the hair to actually moisturize it (not simply coat the surface), rinses out nicely, & afterward it actually leaves my previously-fried crispy hair feeling soft & restored to health, shine, bounce, movement.... Is this the result of a few days of Moisture Balance conditioner, or the PK Elasticizer treatment I applied last week, or the combination of both? IDK yet.


Someone else said that Elasticizer works best with Moisture Conditioner..they're not absolutely necessary together, but I have to agree. They are both excellent products in their own right, & if you don't mind the (painful) expense they are both worth having.


I just can't justify a 5 rating on account of the amodimethicone.. I still want to get away from that stuff as much as possible. For now I will tolerate some from Philip Kingsley .. but only temporarily & sporadically..


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2009 3:49:00 PM More reviews by suz48167

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I was at Harrod's and started to by a Fekkai product, but the saleswoman convinced me to try this line. I bought the travel kit with shampoo, conditioner and elasticizer. I have now ordered regular sizes from the NY store. I have dry, colored, frizzy hair and these products have transformed it!!!. Have never written a review, but these are well worth the money--and to be honest, I thought them reasonable compared to others I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/11/2008 6:23:00 PM More reviews by poppypixie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I use this with the matching shampoo and it makes my long fine to medium dyed brunette hair look much healthier, it seems to hang much better and not be so flyaway.

This is recommended to medium, wavy or fine chemically processed hair so it suits me just fine. As the products are pricey (shampoo 12 for 250ml, conditioner 15 for 250ml), if I had to I'd use a cheaper shampoo but keep the conditioner.

Conditioner bottle is strange - as soon as I picked up the new dry bottle with a wet hand, all the lettering came off where my hand had been. You think they would have tested this! lol

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/21/2008 11:24:00 AM More reviews by honey123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is my HG conditioner.

Ingredients:
Aqua (water), Cetearyl Alcohol, Amodimethicone, Cetimonium Chloride, Tridecth-12, Hydrolyzed Elastin, Cetylpyridinium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Parfum (perfume).

Here is the blurb that is on his website: "Recognised as the leading authority in hair health, Philip Kingsley has over 45 years of trichological experience. His name is known from film set to catwalk and amongst the professionals who only want the best.
Whether you require a clinical consultation and treatment or if you simply want the very best products for everyday hair care - with our expert knowledge and experience we can help you have beautiful, healthier hair." He has a UK and US online shop.

He has clinics in London (2) and New York.

My hair has really suffered since I was ill last year and due to my allergies I have had to use really plain hair care. Unfortunately it wasnt working and despite washing and conditioning my hair every day it was lank, lifeless and dull and I get tangles even right up close to my scalp on the crown.

Fast forward to more recently and I see this guy on QVC UK. I like his style! and ordered from another source some smaller items eg 75ml to see what the ingredients were like and then patch test and then use.

You can do an easy check on his website as to which products are recommended for your hair depending on hair type, chemically treated, length etc. I answered the questions and mine came out as:
Shampoo: Body building
Conditioner: Moisture Balacing
Scalp tonic.

This is the first product I have used in the range as the Body Building shampoo had Citronellol in it so I returned it.

I also ordered and subsequently returned the Maximiser, Weatherproof hairspray and Preen Cream same reason ie the Citronellol.

Back to this conditioner..... it has a pleasant smell althoug hard for me to describe it is not overpowering or very girly or anything like that. The texture of it is a gel/creme and I would say a medium weight. The instructions say "After shampooing gently work into middle lengths and ends, rinse and follow with appropriate scalp tonic".

I found my fine flyaway hair is fuller and does not go greasy at all now.

I have read his book which is quite useful for hair problems including thinning etc etc and I am glad I didnt have to go for a consultation at his clinc as it costs 300+ !!!!

The packaging of the small 75ml bottle is not great as I have broken the cap off! Still he does bigger sizes and I think I will order the 1 litre size to go in the shower and a smaller 250ml for travelling. HG product!

Update: I have been asked for the website details and it is:

http://www.philipkingsley.com.

I have no connection with this or anyother hair/beauty company.

PS forgot to say it was 5.65 for 75ml so it aint cheap BUT its available in larger sizes 250ml for 12.70 and 1000ml (1 litre) for 34.50 I got mine from www.martynmaxey.com as they have it for these prices.. And they do trial packs with a shampoo 75ml, conditioner 75ml, and 3 sachets/goes of deep conditioner for 13.99

Updated again: The flip tops break too easily on the bottles and the writing comes off pretty much straight away! One lippie off.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No