November 28, 2014 | 1847 users online

Cleansers - Rx For Brown Skin - Bright And Even Exfoliating Cleanser

no image

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/15/2010 4:50:00 AM More reviews by djacobs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hello,

Okay I have had a recent episode with acne and breakouts. I've always had oily skin and i'd get an occasional break out and it would leave behind a mark, but they were subtle. Up until about 8mos ago, I started breaking out more frequently, and it left horrible stains. I was hesitant at first to purchase the RX for brown skin for fear that it would make my condition worse. But I gave it a try. Its available for sale at Marshalls and sometime TJmaxx for about $20.00!!! I just purchased the bright and clear items. the toner was maybe 3.99 the moisturizer 9.99 and the cleanser 4.99. GREAT.. GREAT DEAL!! So if you were a little uneasy about spending over 60.00.. go to the above stores.

I'm going start using it in a few days. Wish me luck ;)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/30/2008 7:37:00 PM More reviews by diamondheiress

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

FYI: I am asian, NC25.

I started using the bright and even line including the toner and moisturizer. I really love the moisturizer it is not greasy and the toner is great especially since its alcohol free. I am on the fence about the cleanser, it reminds me of aveeno cleansers, which are about half the price. I am wondering if any of you out there have used both of these products too. I am not sure if I will repurchase this one in the future if aveeno will work just as well.

I use this with my clarisonic brush and it doesn't foam as much as I would like it to. On the flip side I have not noticed any breakouts out from it. I would definitely say this is a gentle product and could be used with the most sensitive of skins. It takes the make up off too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2008 8:41:00 PM More reviews by Khiandra

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Black

I think this will have to be my HG of all hg facial cleansers!! It works very very well. I've been using if for about 3 months now with no horrible side effects. I haven't had any break outs what so ever. My complexion is clearer and more....radiant. My hyperpigmentation spots have faded...i have more of an even complexion. I use it day and night in the shower and i leave it on for like the whole shower then rinse. Uh..i love this stuff so much. Also..it does a pretty good job of removing makeup. Must try.
UPDATE::: Well, i spoke to soon =( This is an ok cleanser but it is a little drying which causes pimple outbreaks on my cheek bones. (not a good look considering i have hyperpigmentation issues). I have since moved on to Milky Cleansers with steller results.

UPDATE UPDATE::
Ok..i reeeeally didn't want to give up on this product because it actually does work i guess i had to figure out how to fit this into my skincare routine. I now use it with excellent results and no irritation nor breakouts! I only use this about 4 times a week at night time after my first initial cleansing with my cream/milk cleanser. It is the best exfoliating cleanser that i have ever used on my skin just remember ladies that everyones skin is technically sensitive so don't over due it!!
UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE::
So i don't use this anymore. The results are not consistent. I now use Kate Somerville Detox Cleanser with amazing results.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2008 3:34:00 PM More reviews by nettenico

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Wow!!

I've tried many cleansers in an attempt to control my occassional outbreaks but none have compared to this! I've been using the cleanser, moisturizer and flawless brightener for only 2 weeks and can already see a significant improvement. I use the cleanser morning and night and I have not experienced any uncomfortable side effects (drying, flaking, burning, etc.). It's a bit pricey but it's worth every penny IMO. I'm so happy to have discovered this product line!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/3/2008 11:01:00 AM More reviews by pixxxie31

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this cleanser for about 3 weeks. I was bummed when it came ih the mail because it looked milky and I thought "oh....hmmm... these milky cleansers never work for me because I never feel clean like I do with the foamy kind, I relly prefer the foaming kind :(" But I still wanted to try it because it was supposed to be 'bright and even' and I've always wanted to be bright and even :) After all, my skin hasn't been as oily and greasy in the past months lit it was when I was a teen. Plus I was excited about the soy and green tea in the ingredients. After the first cleansing, I was in *love*!!! My face felt ver smooth and not itchy and tight on the cheeks. It says to massage onto your skin, but guess what!?!?!?!? If you rub a pump into your damp hands, it gets FOAMY!!!! I didn't find that out until after a week though, lol. Cleans well and have been clear for the most part. That could be from the Yaz too. The majority of my happiness from this product comes from the comfort my skin feels afterwards.

I got a couple of samples of the serum, I used them up, but I thought they smelled vile! No noticable improvement from the serum, but from the cleanser I am evening out :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/21/2008 12:31:00 PM More reviews by moni13

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Im only giving it a three because I started using this since last week thursday but so far I gotta say I really like it . its soft doesnt break me out and my complexion is starting too look really good. I only break out when its that time of the month but i try to control it afterwards. When I break out I use the other cleanser for acne and I spot treat with dr brandt . so overall so far so good will comment later if my skin improves more too early too really see a big difference but so far so good .UPDATE: JUNE 20,2008 I am soooooooo in love with this product its ridiculous. It doesnt break me out only occasional pimple around that time of the month . but over overall I am sooo in love with this product it has cleared my skin substantially and is helping it even it out. :) I will purchase again YEPPPP :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/6/2008 1:12:00 AM More reviews by jasamie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a product junkie and this is one of the cleansers I would purchase again. I have oily skin with post-inflammatory hyperpimentation. Though, not quite sure if this product helps decrease my hyperpimentation ( I also use differin/AHA/azaleic acid), I love how it doesn't dry out my skin and removes all my makeup-- even stubborn waterproof mascara without having to use make-up remover.My face feels so clean afterwards. And I have no breakouts from this product. Defintely will purchase again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/10/2008 12:06:00 PM More reviews by modfemme

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleanser. It throughly cleanses without stripping the skin. My skin never feels dry or taut after using this cleanser and there are exfoliating granules in it that are so gentle that at first I didn't really notice them. Before using this, I needed to exfoliate twice weekly. That is no longer necessary. This in combination with the toner and lotion have given me a nice glow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No