November 24, 2014 | 1634 users online

Self Tanners - Nivea - Sunkissed Skin Firming Gradual Tan (body)

no image

rated 3.7(45 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2013 10:18:00 AM More reviews by amany12

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is my go to self tanner. I love it. It is very easy to apply and the color is subtle and natural. The bottle says to apply everyday for 5 days. I put it on everyday for 3 days and then reapply every 3 days after that. I find that helps keep the color natural, not too dark, and avoids any streaking from fading. The smell is ok, not great, but not awful. I recommend putting it on in the evening and the scent will be gone by morning, or at least after you shower.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2011 3:26:00 PM More reviews by edelk

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have tried a lot of these gradual self tanners from all price ranges, including Johnson's, Dove and I got this on a 2 for 1 offer in Boots, originally I was just buying the body moisturiser and picked this up as well. I got it in fair to medium skin. It is really easily absorbed and I use this mainly on my legs. I am in no way any good at applying these fake tanners and normally get streaky ankles/feet but this came up really well. The colour is really natural on me and what I like about this is that it is very buildable. Also, as I shave my legs rather than wax I have noticed that I don't seem to have a build up of colour after a week or so of applying this. I'm not sure about the firming qualities of this as I mainly apply on the lower half of my legs although I read a review of this in You Magazine (UK) where a beauty writer says this is an excellent tanner to use on the face for it's firming qualities. Definitely worth picking up in Boots. A massive bottle as well that will last you all summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/31/2011 9:53:00 PM More reviews by Karin1539

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I like this a lot, the color is subtle and forgiving - I just slap it on and haven't had streaks at all. No orange or fakeness, more of a sunkissed glow as it promises. It is moisturizing and smooth. And best of all I do not mind the smell at all.Will repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/8/2011 4:40:00 AM More reviews by raspberrysorceress

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I am naturally a very, very, fair skinned person. I'm always the lightest shade in foundations. As far as fake tanners go, this is my favourite, and I've tried things like St. Tropez but I still prefer this Nivea one over them. I must admit that I like to embrace my fair skin more than I used to, so a gradual tanner is my preferred choice when it comes to fake tans because I like being able to build up the intensity to my preference. One layer of this at night all over my body takes the 'glare' off my stark-white arms and legs and gives my skin a nice, natural and subtle olive tone to it. I can still pull off my light coloured foundations with it but I'm sure if I layered up progressively (which I only do if I'm going on holiday or for a special occasion) that I would need to use a darker one. And it is soooo cheap! It's roughly $6 AUD. In all, love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/23/2010 1:04:00 PM More reviews by coolbeanz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm in love with this product. I am VERY fair-skinned naturally with fairly dark hair, so the contrast between the two made me look drained. I first tried the Coppertone gradual tan lotion, and it worked well, but I hated the packaging because I couldn't get all the product out and ended up wasting a bunch of it. Then I decided to go for Jergen's and it did NOTHING. I finally decided to go with Nivea, and I ended up buying two because Rite-Aid was having a 50% off sale with them. This stuff REALLY WORKS!!! However, I ended up buying the one for Medium to Dark skin tones because I wanted the color to be noticeable. The color actually looks very natural on me, and it only took about 5 days to reach the color I wanted. My only complaint is that it didn't really work too well on my legs for some reason, so I had to apply it to my legs twice a day. Also, I wanted the color to be on my hands without getting it on my palms, so the best method I found was to put some on a cotton ball and apply it all over my hands and I found that it doesn't give me any streaking and it works perfectly! The reason I only gave it a rating of 4 though is because I can't stand the smell! It just smells really strange to me, but other than that it worked great for me. I'm definitely going to keep repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/29/2010 8:54:00 AM More reviews by RRich

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

My favourite gradual tanner for the body!

Absorbs well, pleasant scent, firms and gives a natural looking tan. Perfect for before or after your holidays to start off or top up a beachy glow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/19/2010 8:55:00 AM More reviews by annielu1810

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it does stink a bit like off prune or something! but the lotion is so good, ive been using this for 5 days now and i have a significant change in skin colour; just like it says sunkissed!! just have to remember to ALWAYS wash the hands, after smearing it on my body for the first two days, and my hands were already a browny colour!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/17/2010 8:40:00 PM More reviews by cowbeIIyoursocksoff

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this lotion. I think it is better than the majority of gradual tanning lotions out there, mainly because the smell is not as offensive. It is kind of sweet, a little peachy, and does not tend to linger throughout the day as I've noticed with other brands. The tanning is pretty gradual but I do notice a difference, especially when I stop using it for a few days. I have pale skin with yellow undertones, so without a little bit of color I tend to look sickly. I use the medium-dark version because I notice more of a difference. It doesn't turn me orange at all. I do wish it came in a bigger bottle because I go through it so fast. Also, it would be nice if it were cheaper but I guess it is the same price or maybe a bit lower than similar products so it doesn't bother me too much. I buy this whenever I run out, it is now a staple of mine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/10/2010 9:02:00 PM More reviews by SarahLuvsLee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I use this tan every week even though i dont think its the best tan out there but its jus afordable and It doesnt come off on ur clothes or beddin unlike most faketans. It does come with a nasty smell tho but once you hav a shower the smell disapares. I find i need to apply this tan twice befor i get the colour that i want x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/17/2010 10:38:00 PM More reviews by ak0703

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm always trying different sunless tanners and this was one that I had not used yet. The smell isn't as bad as some self tanners, but it still isn't the best. I was really disappointed when after two days of applying I actually had some slight streaking and spots I apparently completely missed. I think I'm going to stick with my L'oreal Sublime Glow lotion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No