August 1, 2014 | 1160 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - Josie Maran Cosmetics - Tinted Moisturizer



image 0

rated 3.4(82 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 53% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/9/2014 2:31:00 AM More reviews by ralexandra

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Like so many other reviewers have said, this is not a tinted moisturizer. I bought it wanting a tinted moisturizer, and it's not one. That's all you need to know! I have mostly clear skin, just a pimple here or there once a month and this stuff made me break out badly. Pimples all over my face, multiple new ones surfacing during wear. It was recommended for dry skin (it was winter when I bought it, and I was combatting some serious dryness), and it certainly is oily and heavy like a dry skin moisturizer. It does not blend well no matter what tools you use--hands, brush, sponge--and it just sort of sits on top of the skin, never absorbing. Because of this, the color doesn't really suit my skin tone (plus the colors are just kind of poorly formulated, I've gathered). There is no transparency as with other tinted moisturizers, it is a very heavy formula. I hated it! I spent weeks with pimples all over my face. Don't waste your money. Bobbi Brown and Laura Mercier do great tinted moisturizers, and I'm never straying from them again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/24/2014 2:57:00 PM More reviews by lolita97

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love how moisturizing and smooth this is but that's it. It broke me out and was SUPER thick, my skin looked way better when i took it off. Plus it's too oily and doesn't have good coverage. The only thing i like about this was the feel of it, it feels so luxurious!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/1/2014 9:26:00 AM More reviews by tootired

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I went into Sephora to try and buy Tarte Smooth Operator but after having an in depth conversation with the very informative SA, she convinced me not to buy Tarte but to give Jose Maran a try as she felt it would be better for my dry, old, face. IDK...maybe because of my age and the target demos of both companies she felt Josie would be a better match?

Thankfully, she sent me packing with SIX generous samples of both brands, 3 colors each. What a gal!

I had no luck with Josie Maran. Shades were off, consistency was too thick, and it did nothing to enhance my completion at all. It was difficult to apply even with a good moisturizer underneath. At the sides of my face where I have the slightest bit of peach fuzz, the product just stuck to the fuzz and it was impossible to blend. The finish was dull, drab ,blotchy, covered nothing and adhered to the smallest of flakes I had that could not be detected by the eye without the product on.

It was a total bust for me. As for Tarte, I'm wearing it today and as a quick comparison to Josie, it applied 100 times better, has more covering power and has a lovely finish. Too soon to tell but I'll review Tarte when I've spent more time with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2014 12:34:00 PM More reviews by Peri

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I LOVE all of Josie's products, but this one fell a little flat in my opinion. It's more like a BB cream than a tinted moisturizer, as it's light in weight but quite thick. Too thick, IMO. It oxidizes on my skin too, turning it brownish, which I don't like. I definitely shows that I'm wearing foundation. That said, I'll still use other products from the line because, apart from this, they're really fantastic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/6/2014 10:33:00 PM More reviews by kmhanker

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

While this is a nice product, I'm not over the moon for it. It's a little too thick and too heavy for my taste; calling it a tinted moisturizer is misleading. I do mix this product with my facial moisturizer to thin it out, but if I'm going to spend this much money on a product, I'd like it to actually be a tinted moisturizer.

The color is also a bit dark (I use Creme). If you're fair with cool undertones, I suggest trying a sample first. I suspect that I may also have a reaction to the argan oil (I've developed smal bumps on my cheeks, which has never happened before). On the plus side, it is moisturizing and oxidizes well with my skin. I'd purchase it again, but only if it was the only natural tinted moisturizer available.

I will update this when I have more information regarding the argan oil reaction.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/6/2014 8:53:00 AM More reviews by BeautyBloom14

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Overall I love it! Check out my blog post for a detailed review! http://beautybloom14.blogspot.com/2014/03/josie-maran-cosmetics-argan-tinted.html

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/25/2014 2:01:00 AM More reviews by kimmurs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have light-medium (depending on season), yellow-toned, combo skin. I use this in Light 1. For a tinted moisturiser the coverage is really good! I found the shade nice for warm skin tones and I love that it is SPF 30 physical sunscreen (titanium dioxide + mostly zinc oxide). There's definitely better out there as far as the feel/finish department goes. I think it may be due to the physical sunscreens in this, but I find you can really feel the product on your face. It is hard to blend too, as in once you've applied it you need to blend immediately because it sticks and dries fast - not light and smooth at all. Because of this drying/sticking I would not recommend this if you have dry skin. Overall decent TM with good physical sunscreen coverage (I'm not sure how natural the product actually is), but in general there's better out there IMO, especially if you have dry skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/9/2014 10:02:00 PM More reviews by savyy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This goes on really thick yet doesn't cover nicely. It doesn't blend in nicely - tried it with fingers, sponge and foundation brush. It also looked splotchy and oily but also accentuated dry spots by the end of the day. Only good thing is the natural SPF but I just felt like I was slathering on a heavy mineral sunscreen rather than a TM. The ingredients are also sketchy for a supposedly 'natural' brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/23/2014 9:54:00 AM More reviews by Kb777

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

As the others stated, to call this a tinted moisturizer is misleading. It is absolutely more like a medium coverage foundation. And like a foundation, I find that I have to wear moisturizer underneath it, even to make the product blend more smoothly. That said, I do like the product a lot. I think the coverage is nice. I also like the color (I have Light 1). It has a warm golden undertone that works well with my skin and in my opinion, is hard to find. That said, I think someone who didn't have a warm undertone in their skin would probably hate the color. I would buy this again, the one draw back however is the price. It's expensive for the quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/27/2013 4:15:00 PM More reviews by volpone2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

I love this TM. It has really great coverage as other reviewers have stated, it's more like a medium coverage foundation than a TM. That also justifies the price, which is very high, but again the coverage is a lot heavier than most TMs. Definitely a HG product for me. I have oily skin but it just makes me glowy, not oily. By mid day my skin looks flawless when paired with a little concealer for darker acne spots. Would definitely repurchase and recommend to all skin types (as it's very moisturizing as well)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No