October 30, 2014 | 1447 users online

Eye Shadow - NARS - Surabaya Duo



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.2(38 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2014 11:47:00 PM More reviews by cwabby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This duo is AMAZING! The colour payoff is fantastic - one swipe and you get rich pigmented shadow. Texture is smooth and silky. It isn't soft like the lorac shadows but firmer, silkier without being chalky. One of nars' best duos in my opinion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/21/2013 4:53:00 PM More reviews by cheyette

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

If you're in the mood for a neutral brown eyeshadow color that has some gold glint and an option for red brown, then this is a good combo to get.

I wasn't expecting to purchase this, but the NARS makeup lady helped me apply it in a day look version: the lighter neutral brown with fine gold glint goes a bit all over and the reddish with a bit of copper colored brown is emphasized in the centre and blended out right at the lash line. Those makeup assistants can really get you to buy because had she not showed me how to wear it, then I probably would not have wanted to buy another brown eyeshadow duo. You can go darker and heavier on this and yes, this product is very NARS and highly pigmented which is great because you're getting your money's worth!

I think this would show up a lot better on fairer skin tones because it can be a striking color combo. Because of the red brown, if your eyes are lighter then it's even more striking. Kim Kardashian says she loves this duo so it would look good with someone with her coloring, too:
http://www.alwaysnewyou.com/beautiful_you/celebrity_tips/kim-kardashian-makeup-tips.html


When I'm on the go, I'll just use the lighter brown shade on the left as an all over shade and even when wears throughout the day, the fine gold glitter is still really pretty on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/23/2013 11:53:00 PM More reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had lusted for this duo for ages Ė two gorgeous, warm dark neutrals with shimmer? Iíll definitely love it, I thought so I bought it online and awaited it to arrive with excitement.I really wish I had seen it in person and swatched the shades on my skin, because the colours look truly awful on my eyes! In the pan the shades look so beautiful, one side is a warm chocolate brown with shimmer, and other is a darker brown with reddish/burgundy undertones also with shimmer. I honestly donít know why these shades are included together, because once Iíve applied one colour to my eyelids and proceed to add the other, there is not the slightest bit of contrast. I have tried so many different ways to make both colours work to no avail Ė my eyes look incredibly dark and muddy with these shades on, even if I wear each shade on itís own. Incredibly unflattering, hard to blend each shade and I have a feeling that darker skinned females will have a hard time making the colours show up on their skin. The one positive thing I have to say about Surabaya is that each shade has incredible pigmentation, definitely living up to NARSí high standard.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/3/2012 6:43:00 AM More reviews by khubsurat101

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love it! It can be used together but I like using them as singles.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/20/2012 10:36:00 PM More reviews by DizzyNicky

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This eye shadow duo is my favorite eye shadow of all time. These colors are beautiful. If you love coppers and bronzes, these are a must have. They are highly pigmented, blend effortlessly and they last forEVER. I bought this and the Kalahari duo at the same time and have had them for 4 years and I haven't hit pan yet. Expensive, but worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/27/2011 2:38:00 AM More reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I've been looking at these online for weeks because I couldn't get to a counter to test them, and Sephora does not carry it at all. These are both highly pigmented, and a lot of the duo shadows can be sheer/chalky/chunky on one side. With this one you get two of the most pigmented, and there are 62 duo's, I think. Brown sugar isn't the name of the left side, it's just a description, and NARS describes the right side as "chestnut" or a red brown. I think these are universal shades and they look beautiful with most skin tones and eye colors. Only they might blend into some darker skin tones that are warm, or contrast too much with ultra fair blondes. If you have green or blue eyes these are just stunning and so vivid. You get a lot of impact with little use. I like to use a base under them like a Benefit Stiletto cream shadow or MAC Paint Pot in a brown or purple shade. The shimmer in these two shades is subtle, but gorgeous. No fallout, serious pigment, and they are high quality. I struggled with the price and whether or not to buy them, but so far they are worth the $33, and each would be $16.50 as singles. One MAC shadow is 1.5 grams and these are two for 4 grams total.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/28/2011 8:03:00 PM More reviews by Teddynick

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm a NW45 and this doesn't show up well on me. It looks similar to the color of my skin tone. I love Nars cosmetics but this one isn't the best for darker skinned girls. I am going to return it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2011 1:53:00 PM More reviews by MzSiStarr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Very uniquely pigmented brown shades. Worth the money because I don't own any colors that are similar to this duo...I would have to mix several browns/golds/reds to achieve the Surabaya Duo. The pigmentation is very nice, a little goes a long way depending on the intensity you desire.....I use this often for work and nights out, as it can be easily toned down or built up into a smoky brown eye. I think this duo is flattering to darker skin tones and WOC.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/22/2011 8:12:00 AM More reviews by ananthia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

OOOOhhhhh Myyy Gooossshh!!!
That eyeshadow is based on my hometown name!!
I've just found out from one of my best friend hahahaha
funny story;;I was born at surabaya..
one of the largest city in Indonesia..
and it became product from the cosmetic goddess....NARS
it must be a lovely shadow
as lovely as my hometown huehe

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/11/2010 4:02:00 PM More reviews by Gailkey2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I abosolutely love these colors especially the redder side. I have mac nw45 skin tone and I paired it with a pink and it was gorgeous also I used it with a green and it looked awesome i must say. Alsways blendable and pigmented. Love NARS!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No