October 31, 2014 | 1190 users online

Fragrances - The Body Shop - Perfume Oil

no image

rated 4.3(60 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/13/2009 1:14:00 AM More reviews by stacia79

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I don't know if anyone else remembers an oil called Kokonolo. It was the most amazing smell of all time. If they ever bring this one back, they will have a loyal customer in me for life.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/21/2008 9:26:00 PM More reviews by jawjuhh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i have this in chocolate mint and mmmhmm it is delicious. you just need to dab a little on and it will last FOR EVER

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/21/2008 7:08:00 PM More reviews by Flahh

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh, I too pine for the Body Shop of old! I was never out of there when I was a middle teenager in the early 90s, then I didn't shop there for years. I've just gone back to it age 33.

It's a huge disappointment that they got rid of the old circular perfume bar with the many oils. Most disappointing of all was the disappearance of Rose Musk. It was my all-time favourite perfume oil. There was also Mostly Musk - heavenly - Chypre, Rose, and too many others to think of.

So I bought Coconut, and it's totally different from the old Coconut. The old one was much sharper and more like coconut, whilst this one is much, much sweeter. I like it a lot but don't think it really smells of coconut.

As far as I can tell the only perfume oil that still smells like it used to is White Musk.

I like Indian Gardenia but it fades really quickly, after a couple of hours.

Even though they're not what they used to be, the perfume oils are still fab and I hope they continue to re-issue them.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/20/2007 8:45:00 PM More reviews by rebdab

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I agree with the lamentations below... oh for the perfume oils of old! The old vanilla oil holds such strong memories of uni days, the new one is a different creature with much less depth and tenacity, lacking that true balsamic vanilla note. Without these expectations it is actually quite a nice, easy to wear scent. Ans to think in a fit of cleaning mania a few years ago I threw away a bottle of the old vanilla oil thinking that a) it could be too old/off, b) vannilla would always be around/ never be reformulated... grrrrr. For those who loved the old rose musk, to my mind Ombre Rose by Jean - Charles Brosseau smells extremely similar (going from memory only) and can be found for fairly cheap prices on SN for pure parfum.
as for the other newer oil scents, i do like a few of them for fun, eg the coconut and indian gardenia are wonderful on a hot hot summers day. The cinnamon spice smells exactly like Chanel's Chance and then for some reason 3 hours later is the exact rendition of cigarrette ash on my skin. White musk an oldie but a goodie.For the price, I say buy a few and don't take them too seriously.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/23/2007 2:41:00 PM More reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I once loved TBS' perfume oils, especially back in the good old days (early 1990s) when they had so many distinctive scents to choose from. I still have a few perfume oils from those days (Winterdew, Dewberry, Rose, Rose Musk, Focus, Sweet Faith, Framboise, White Musk) and they still smell fabulous.

Recently, TBS has been putting out more perfume oils again...but they're not the same. I bought a few of the newer limited edition scents (Pink Fruit Punch, Crisp Cotton, Cosy Cashmere, Sequin Sparkle, Sultry Samba), and, while they smell nice, the scents just seem more generic than the old ones (not to mention the cheesy names). The formula seems to have changed, as well: with the old oils, I could often still detect them on my skin the next day. I'm lucky if I can still smell the new ones after an hour. Finally, the packaging has been cheapened considerably. At least two of the applicator wands have broken off the newer bottle caps.

Oh, Body Shop of old, how I miss thee. continued >>

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/27/2007 11:00:00 AM More reviews by maxxx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh my goodness where do i start! I looovvveee the coconut and white musk. [but not together] The coconut IS summer. Such a great smell for a great price in the UK. White musk is gorgeous and i where to work. I want to try more...can't wait! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2007 5:39:00 AM More reviews by fqari84

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm a college student student on a tight budget, yet when it comes to fragrances I refuse to skimp on quality...TBS's perfume oils are the bomb! I remember as a little girl I used to love testing out all the fragrances at the counter while my mum purchases her beloved White Musk oil....They last forever and some of my fave scents ever are there...Woody Sandalwood (I was never able to find anything else that smells quite like this one! It' s one of my signature fragrances), White Musk (this too is different from any other fragrance! My mom never leaves home without it), Vanilla (I prefer this in EDT tho, the oil is too strong for me), Peach, and Dewberry...they're cheap considering the quality u'e getting, u can collect as many as u like, they stay on u all day long, plus u can add it too non-scented shampoos, body lotions or shower gels...TBS perfume oils are heaven sent! u find scents that are sweet, deep, bold, warm, or fresh and invigorating all under one roof...some people claim to not like the package, yet for me they are simple and cute enough as I dislike complicated packaging that distracts from the product's quality...I'm a fan forever!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2007 11:28:00 PM More reviews by idyllick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

The perfume oils are a really good value. If you want a light, yet very sensual scent, one of these will satisfy u guaranteed. I went in after learning that a cousins signature scent which she constantly received compliments on (anaya) came from here. thats when i discovered fuzzy peach. I dot a litle on my neck and wrist rub them together then brush them on my shirt and i am ready to go. The small bottles are especially convenient at a club or anywhere u need a small purse, it fits perfectly even a wristlet and it packs a big punch. So many times ive been complimented on this scent. Another thing i love, not many will be wearing it, so you can create your own scent. Its a refreshing breather from perfumes all the time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2007 10:07:00 AM More reviews by vloterbiegje

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love the perfume oils. They are more intense and longer-lasting than regular spray-on perfumes and I also feel as if they smell more natural on me - as if they mix better with my own smell. Regular perfumes can start annoying me after a while, but oils never. Right now I use the vanilla oil, which is great though the scent might be better if it were just a bit less straight-forward vanilla. The packaging is a bit weird, I'm always scared I will spill the lot. Also, when I got home I discovered I had taken the wrong scent (it is only printed in tiny letters on the label); luckily I could switch the bottle without further problems.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/1/2007 6:27:00 PM More reviews by aura_brite1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I had some Oceanus body spray left. Wore it the other day and my DH was thrilled - he said it reminds him of good memories. Because TBS's new EDT's and body sprays have a lot of alcohol, I'm going to purchase the perfume oil again. I have before and overall was pleased.
Perfume oil of any kind is more likely to cause pimples or breakouts.You can dilute a little in some distilled water with a tad of alcohol in an atomizer. You can also put a drop or two in your favorite product - a shampoo or lotion - and mix it well so it picks up the scent.
It's a good bargain for the money and the limited edition fragrances are fun. I will have to check out the new ones when I go pick up my Oceanus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No