November 23, 2014 | 2116 users online

Hair Color - Revlon - High Dimension Color Accents Highlighting Kit

no image

rated 2.6(14 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.6
  • 35% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 6/6/2007 10:20:00 PM More reviews by Michawn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Bought this at Big Lots this weekend, was just looking for a fun highlight color and was intrigued by the Burgundy. I am sure my regular hair person will NOT be so happy about it.

First off, it was only $4 so I didn't expect a whole lot. I was expecting a little more BURGUNDY, like purpley color but didn't really get that. I have medium brown hair with light brown/blonde highlights, salon done so there really isn't a box I can pick up that says will work on YOUR hair, so it's a cr*p shoot for me.

The applicator was AWFUL!!! I am pretty new to doing the highlights myself but I've used enough of them to know this thing was bulky, hard to get any real quality lines and globbed stuff all over. Then you have to let that sit, then rinse out, then put in a toner, then rinse that out then a conditioner. A LOT of work! But if you have any question as to whether the toner really works, leave a little of the bleach solution (the gloopy stuff in the 1st step) on your hand and watch it turn burgundy in the shower! I had that mark for 3 days, no amount of scrubbing took it out!!!

Over all the color was ok, it made my original hair color look dull (less warmth in my original color than I thought I had) but blending it all right. I won't go back for more though, just the applicator itself, let alone too many steps made it not worth saving the money!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/4/2006 12:37:00 AM More reviews by ProductJunkey

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I used the champagne colored highlighting kit- I got horrible results- my hair had yellow (I mean *yellow* porn star hair) streaks.Argh!
The applicator was a bad idea. The color dripped all over the bathroom floor and sink. Plus it was impossible to make straight lines with it.
I wish I had read the reviews before I used this product. Beware!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2004 8:24:00 PM More reviews by krazzeekutiez12

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

*//I used this product in Burgandy. I had a friend help, which was a GOOD idea! We found a applicator a little difficult to use, but we eventually got it to where it looked the way we had hoped. I freaked out when I saw all the red running down the shower drain, but the end result was very pretty. I have medium brwon hair, and I wouldn't reccomend using this shade on lighter hair.\\*

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/4/2004 3:21:00 PM More reviews by Fashion_addict

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product turned my hair into a checker board of bad color. I had blobs of cheese yellow and golden yellow all over my head,and I only left it on for 15 minutes. I used the honey kit and had dark brown hair. I can say I'd never use this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2004 6:01:00 PM More reviews by CherryMonkey8591

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product in honey and have already used it twice. I would recommend it for medium brown hair. First time i left it on for 13 minutes, secondtime 18 minutes. I really like how to color turned out. My advice though is to get someone to help you apply it! Also make sure you read the directions and practice with the applicator a few times on a napkin! Great subtle highlights!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/8/2004 8:15:00 PM More reviews by june17

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I tried this out because I wanted highlights, but unfortunately what I got was all-over blonding. I streaked my hair with the comb, left it on for 30 minutes, and came out with all-over yellowish blond hair with bright blond spots. The bottle-comb dealy was not such a bright idea on revlon's part, as the bleach doesn't stay at the bottom of the bottle near the comb, even if you keep it upside down, so when you squeeze the bottle to release the bleach onto your hair, it either doesn't come out, or blobs out too fast for you to comb it into a streak. I'm not one to freak out over my hair, but I can't say the splotches make me exactly happy, either. I give this a 2 because I'm not completely unhappy with the color of my hair, but decline to give this product a higher rating because the final color looks much, much yellower than it does on the box (even after leaving it on for 30 minutes) and I didn't get the streaks the product boasts.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/18/2004 11:15:00 AM More reviews by veggigoddess

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Used the Blonde highlighter and it barely made any difference! This is far too pricey for no noticable difference damit! I will not use any other hair color or highlighter because L'Oreal and Clairol both test on animals and goinf to get it down professionally is far too expensive. I love the regular high dimensions hair color and will always stick with that, but I think this highlighting idea sucks cause as someone already said the applicator sucks big time! Globs come out no matter how gently I squeezed and once that happens there's no way to fully even it out. My hair is golden blonde and this should had created about a shade lighter in highlights and did not. I shall just do what I have always done to highlight my hair which is buy 1-2 shades lighter then my overall haircolor and use a comb. I get better results and my hair looks professionally highlighted.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/16/2004 12:31:00 AM More reviews by sashimigirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Blech. I have naturally black Asian hair that is currently dyed a dark mahogany brown. I bought the Burgundy shade of this kit to put some lighter streaks in my hair. The first big problem is the applicator-brush. It was really hard to control the amount of product that came out--even keeping the bottle upside down through the process as recommended didn't prevent uneven application as big globs would come out near the roots and then an air bubble would mean less or no product as you go down the strand. Second big problem: after I rinsed out the highlighting solution, I had the expected orangey streaks, but didn't freak out because the shampoo-in toner is supposed to add color to the highlighted portions. But after using the toner and conditioner as directed, I came out of the shower with...orangey streaks. Worse, they were much brighter near my hairline than the rest of my head (remember the globs?), giving the impression of spots. Yeesh. Tomorrow morning I'll be putting semi-perm dark brown over it all to see if I can tone down the streaks a little...but I think I've learned my lesson. Highlights -- esp for dark hair! -- should be done by a professional, not by you over your bathroom sink!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2004 4:55:00 PM More reviews by zibra73

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really,really love this stuff! I have purchased this twice already and thats a good sign for me I'm very picky. I buy the honey and it is very pretty on my hair I usually color my hair all one color and use the honey highlighting kit a couple of days later and I LOVE IT! The trick of using the comb applicator is make sure it is upside down and squeeze alittle to the tip of the comb once you get used to it its easy. This works for me over my medium reddish brown color I put on my hair. I probably will not use anything else,because I'm pretty satisfied with product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/31/2003 12:03:00 AM More reviews by ladybug000

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I did not like the results of this at all and the product made me break out in a rash all around my hair line, ears and chest. The only thing I can think of how it may have happened is when I showered to wash out the hair color my skin had a reaction to the chemicals in this product. The comb that comes in the kit is hard to use and the color was a little brassy. I purchased the blonde highlights to use on my naturally dark blonde hair. Will never use this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No