August 21, 2014 | 966 users online

Polishes - OPI - Nutcracker Sweet holiday duo

no image

rated 3.8(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 4/13/2009 10:48:00 AM More reviews by xxxHELENxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

In the bottle this looks gorgeous. I can't do a different job of describing it than has already be done - it really is a weird (but lovely) hybrid of rose, green and gold.
I found it to be very, very sheer but it looks awesome layered over either black (for winter) or white (for summer). Surprisingly versatile!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/22/2009 10:08:00 AM More reviews by mudpie1964

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I hate to bring down the reviews and rating on this one but to me OPI's Nutcracker Sweet looked like gray dishwater with a pink flash. It was horrible on me. It's basically a gray'd taupe with a pink duochrome. The pink was beautiful but I couldn't get past the muddy brown of the base color. I'd be interested to see a picture of this one with the glitter top coat (which I don't have). Maybe that might help. I can't comment as to wear because it wasn't on my fingers long enough but application was a breeze. This one has the old formula and old non-ProWide brush so it went on smoothly with no bubbling or streaks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/9/2008 4:43:00 PM More reviews by gnippy

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is definitely a duochrome polish. On me it looks like a medium bronze w/strong pink flahes as well as some green flashes. I think it is quite pretty. The top coat consists of bronze micro glittler w/ lots of other micro glitter colors (pinks, greens, golds, pinks) mixed in. The polish and top coat compliment each very well & look quite festive. The quality of the polish and the top coat are both excellent. Both applied smoothly w/o streaking. The polish give good coverage w/2 coats and I used 2 coats of the tc to add another layer of reflective goodness. These are LE and now hard to find as they were sold in 2002. If you can get your hands on these at a reasonable price I highly recommend them as a nice addition to your holiday polish collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/8/2008 7:45:00 PM More reviews by RubyRose16

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Currently I only have the polish, not the glitter top coat. On me this color is, interestingly enough, a nude duochrome. It appears brownish, pinkish, or greyish nude depending on the lighting. This is the only duochrome that I own that I think is totally interview appropriate. Like all of my older OPIs (pre big 3 free), the wear of this polish is excellent. So far I've had it on for 5 days and have hardly any noticible tipwear. I would definitely try to track down another bottle if I ever ran out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/25/2007 6:25:00 AM More reviews by ozebaia

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Blue

When I first put this nail color on the only thing I could compare it to was silk fabric and the best way to describe this color is as sunset pink silk shot with gold. It is the most amazing color but does not look super glossy on its own. Also it wears extremely well, even without a top coat. This shade is now discontinued, but I was able to get one on Ebay recently, but only the main color, not the glittery top coat as well. Thumbs up from me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2006 10:02:00 AM More reviews by partymartyw

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love both the polish and top coat. The polish is a frosty taupe base that flashes pink and green tones. Sounds weird, but very cool. The top coat is tons of gold and copper holographic sparkles! Beautiful together.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/1/2003 3:16:00 AM More reviews by Powhatten

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is a prettily outrageous color based on a rose with gold and green shimmers that show up differently at different angles and in different lights. A fantasy color and fun to wear yet it goes with many other colors and looks good on many skin tones. Goes and stays on well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/20/2003 1:21:00 AM More reviews by JennBard

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I only had the Nutcracker Sweet single which I liked for the week I wore it but it's just not me. I'm pale and it barely showed up. It's a beautiful beige w/pink undertones. Much like my H.C. Pulp which is a tad bit darker therefore the one I chose to keep instead.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2002 9:55:00 AM More reviews by ginagate

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Perfect for the holidays, this iridesent pink /gold/brown/green (sounds awful but looks good, trust me)polish and microglittery topcoat will be on my nails until New Years. The topcoat, since it isn't really oversparkly, can be used with other polishes, I think, so it'll be a festive addition to my collection.

I was hesitant because I wasn't sure how the pink/green iridecent look would look on my caramel-colored hands (i hate when polish looks grey), but there's enough gold here to offset the green.

Honestly, I liked this color best when I only had one coat of it on with the topcoat, but I really do like this. Looks cute on toes, too!


**UPDATE** Well, I've reverted back to my 'safe' Red polish for the holidays -- the glitter took about 2 weeks for me to get tired of. It's nice for parties and to be festive, but honestly, next time, I'll spend my money on hand cream or something more useful. I'll be swapping this because I can't see myself wearing it any other time than during the holidays.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No