October 25, 2014 | 1529 users online

Foundations - Smashbox - Antishine



image 0

rated 3.4(34 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/17/2012 12:41:00 PM More reviews by uyenthy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first review ever. I'm a product whore and being that I spend a considerable amount of my disposable income on beauty, I find that it's my duty to inform others to not become like me and succumb to products, especially beauty products that are over-priced and aren't effective.

With that being said, do not waste your money on this product. After applying it on, I getting oily just an hour later. Just a little background, I have excessively oily skin. I am 34 years old but I've been told I could pass for an 18 year old. I guess that's the benefit of being Asian as we have oily skin but on the flip side, foundation seems to disappear within a matter of hours. I've tried every foundation there is, trust me. Nothing works.

I've been on the hunt for a product that would reduce the oiliness but have not found such product. I watched a guru on YouTube rave about this product and how she uses it on her clients and it works wonders against combatting shine. This product did not do anything for me. I applied a good amount on my t-zone this morning and as I'm writing this, 2 hours later, I'm already oily and I will probably have to soak it up using a blotting sheet. I go through about 2 a day and not to mention, multiple touch ups.

I will have to go back to my HG moisturizer Murad Oil-Control Mattifier SPF 15. It also has SPF which this Smashbox Anti-shine does not have. I've gone through 3 tubes and just ordered my 4th one on Amazon. I love this stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/23/2011 9:25:00 AM More reviews by mariyelle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I find this product to be rather ineffective alone, but in conjunction with milk of magnesia and a light pore filling primer (ala dr. brandts pores no more) it completely banishes oil all day long!

I am unfortunately incredibly oily on my nose (slightly less on my forehead), so this product maybe sufficient in oil control for less oily individuals. That being said, Milk of Magnesia is a much more effective (and MUCH cheaper) product, but I still gotta give antishine some credit in terms of oil fighting capabilities.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2011 5:57:00 PM More reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This was a total fail for me. I applied a very thin layer on my t-zone, making sure to warm the product between my fingertips first to make it easier to apply. It gave an instant matte finish, which was a bit tacky but smooth to the touch after it fully dried. Applying foundation was a bit more difficult than usual, as blending took more work. The results were nice but not long-lasting. Oil breakthrough occurred at the 2 hour mark which was surprising, considering I used an oil-control foundation as well. I blotted, only to find my foundation transferred from skin to the blotsheet and left me with a blotchy face. This was not worth the $31 CDN.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/29/2009 10:53:00 PM More reviews by linhg25

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I use a pinhead sized amount on my forehead, cheeks and chin. A little goes a long way because it is very dry and grabs makeup that is applied on top of it. If I apply too much it makes it difficult to smooth on my foundation and concealer. Usually, I layer a primer over the Antishine to fill in my pores and to make it easier to apply foundation. The mattifying effect does not last long on my very oily skin in the humid climate of Florida, but it could be because I use so little of it. Antishine does help my foundation last longer which is mainly why I use it. I find that primer alone does not keep my foundation on my greasy skin all day, however the combination of this and primer works well. One tube lasts over a year for me, so the price is very fair. I have never tried this on top of my makeup so I cannot say if it works well that way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/15/2009 6:49:00 PM More reviews by momo0604

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i have very oily t zone, my nose is worse than my forehead. before trying out this product, i was only using smashbox photo finish light. it didnt work that well alone. my makeup would stay matte looking for an hr and my t zone would get very shinning. i just bought this product two days ago and so far i am very impressed. i only use a lil amount and dab it on my nose only. this product does dry quick, so u have to work it into ur skin fast. it is not ideal for ur whole face so if that is what u are looking for, this product might not work for u. also, i have very sensitive, acne-prone skin and this product doesnt irritate my skin. my process to apply this product is that moisturize my skin, dab a lil anti shine on my nose, wait 2 min for the product to dry then apply photo finish light and mineral foundation later on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/20/2008 8:34:00 PM More reviews by saver

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It does take away the shine on my face but it is difficult to apply with its thick putty-like consistency. It also dries like a mask on my face. Anything I put on after this looks cakey.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/22/2008 1:55:00 PM More reviews by shugarh1gh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin so I had high hopes for this product. Nope, it didn't work for me! I even put it on half my face with foundation over it and left the other face with foundation only to test its effectiveness. Both sides were equally greasy after a couple of hours. Will not be buying again. Also did not match my color (I'm more yellow) so gave me a slight "mask" look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2007 4:32:00 PM More reviews by Melanie3003

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a 42 y/o mother of 3 and I have very oily skin, I have never found something that works as good as this product. I cannot and WONT live without it! It makes me have that much desired matte finished to my skin, which is something I have only wished for until now! If you have oily skin, you cannot live without this! Great product!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/5/2007 5:57:00 AM More reviews by Lcbc

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very, very oily skin in my t-zone and this does a nice job of giving me a matte finish. I actually use it after moisturizer/sunscreen and before foundation. However, I still get the shinies after a couple of hours. Yep, I'm that oily, but otherwise I'd be shiny within 15 minutes. So while it doesn't last for me, it is the best thing I've tried so far.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/15/2007 10:01:00 PM More reviews by pinkpolkadots43

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I rarely will repeatedly buy a product as I am very hard to please, but for my oily skin this seems to be the only thing that works! I use this under my estee lauder double wear foundation and i basically no oilies! instead as the day wears on my skin achieves a "glow"! has not made me break out, however it does not work as well when used over foundation, it is more of a base for foundation

Is this review helpful? Yes No