September 21, 2014 | 951 users online

Lipstick - Lipstick Queen - Lipstick



image 0

rated 4.4(35 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/25/2014 1:53:00 PM More reviews by CStuartMonteith

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

A few years ago I bought Saint Berry. When I tried the tester on my hand, it looked quite sheer, so I bought it. However, on the lips it is rather opaque, but not in a bad way, as it still looked satin. I have very sensitive lips, the vast majority of lipsticks make my lips dry and peel, I usually stick to Clinique for this reason. But Lipstick Queen is very good, there is no scent and no irritant. I recently bought the color Hang Ten from the Endless Summer range. It is a lovely pale peach pink and it is quite sheer, which I like. I am thinking of getting 1 or 2 more from the Saint range. Probably due to the popularity, the price of these lipsticks have rocketed, which is a shame.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2014 6:17:00 PM More reviews by debstar75

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I got this in Saint Sunny Rouge, which is a lovely coral-red shade. After years of hearing about the awesomeness of this brand, I spent an afternoon researching the different shades & finally shelled out $22 to get one of my own. I have to say, I was a bit disappointed.
PRO- the Saint formula is really thick & opaque, considering it's supposed to be a sheer line. So I can tell they have really pigmented formulas.
(Big) CON- It was really drying & irritating. I have dry lips to begin with, and heard this brand was fine for other ladies with the same issue. Not so much. This is the only lip product I've tried that actually causes my lips to start peeling within an hour or so of application. I couldn't wait to remove it.
If you have no lip issues, this is probably a fantastic product! Just didn't work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2013 9:21:00 AM More reviews by swimmingpretty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used three of these lipsticks now two sinners (berry and natural) and medieval. So here is a summary of each:
Natural
You can see my other review of this but over time I have found that this colour does not cooperate well with other makeup - the pigment is so strong it swallows lip liner whole, it becomes gloopy with any gloss over it and generally when worn with a full face of makeup (tinted moisturizer, mascara, liquid liner and brows) it made me look like a mannequin. Despite these issues I continued to wear it with little to no make up and eventually passed it on to a friend, who loves it.
Final assessment: Lovely colour but beware of the high amount of pigment, perhaps wear a full face of makeup when testing these colours.

Berry
I love this colour and literally scraped out the bottom and made a balm to finish it. This is a bit of a 90's colour, but in a good way. Remember that brown Naomi Campbell used to wear on the cover of every magazine in the early 90's, for me this is that brown! Its warm, has a hint of red but completely brightens my face. It can be worn everyday and looks amazing with cream tops. Out of the three this is the one I would consider buying again
Final assessment: Take a look at this colour if you love the classy type of 90's looks.

Medieval
I have only a couple of millimeters of this left. I really like this but I got it on ebay and would be annoyed if I had paid full price for this as it is essentially a red tinted lip balm that leaves a slight stain. I purchased this for 11 back when it was selling for 16...it costs 20 now! Granted I am always surprised at how deep the stain is, how long it lasts and how moisturizing it is but then again I'm pretty sure that Dr Pepper lip smacker could do the same thing for a fraction of the price.
Final assessment: Lovely...but a rip off

UPDATE: Rust (sinner)
This makes my lips look... sensuous and pouty for such a pigmented colour it looks quite soft. Like Berry it completely brightens up my face. I have no point of reference for this colour; the MA said it looked a bit coral on me, but it looks burnt red when I wipe it off so I'll say that this is a browny burnt red shade. I love this for everyday, no need for lipliner just a bit of balm underneath.
Final assessment: The name is unappealing but don't sleep on Rust Sinner

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/21/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by Rosiexxx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Saw it online cause of some good reviews. Such simple product, really like it, but the bottom fell off of mine :(

Overall pretty nice!!


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2010 3:44:00 AM More reviews by brookebaird

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I love pigment-rich lipsticks. The sinner collection has a few beautiul shades. The rose shade is super flattering and the wearability is excellent. Like Julie Hewett Lipsticks (JH is a little thicker), they can be a bit drying. I prefer to line my lips, apply once, blot, and then reapply. Using this method, I can have perfect lips even throughout coffee and a morning snack. The staying power is better without gloss. I just make sure to moisturize my lips at the end of the night.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/16/2009 7:08:00 PM More reviews by greeneyedannie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought Medieval and judging by the reviews on here was prepared to have it change my world. It did. By leaving me almost 20 worse off. This is a very average lipstick for a hell of a lot of money and what I feel is cheap packaging. It has no staying power and does not appear to be choc full of Vitamin E or whatever the blurb says about it being moisturising. It is, dare i say, a little drying. I was deeply deeply disappointed by this. However, the colour is a good blue red BUT you have to do the apply/blot/powder trick or it fades. Maybe I'm just too used to the fantastic moisturising abilities of my Bobbi Brown lip tint. Now, if only she could come up with one in the same colour...

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2009 11:20:00 PM More reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is my first review ever. I own nine different LQ products. Love many, but Red, Rose, and Pink Sinners faves. Yes, for some, the Red may get a little bumpy in texture in the tube after a while due to heat changes, but it does not affect the color on lips in my experience. Pink Sinner is very witty, showing how pink can be a sly neutral that sidesteps the usual boredom of neutrals, yet is not silly. Rose Sinner/Saint and Medieval are good training wheels for red wannabes. I'm very fair skinned, but know many women of color and think the Wine and Berry ones should be better known to women of color, seriously under-served group, no woman of any ethnicity should ever be denied her lipstick potential, I mean that in all seriousness. It's practically a political belief for me, making sure all women have access to great lipstick. Not only do the Sinners last long, so do the Saints provided you don't fuss with them--add a tiny amount of clear balm/gloss when Saints fade for a delicate glossed look for the last stretch of the evening when out on the town. Have trouble applying Sinner? Put on a balm on bare lips and then remove it before applying Sinner and it will go on smoother. Pink and Rose Saints are absolutely adorable for easy does it days. I appreciate how the plumping glosses use optical illusion instead of stinging; I've noticed that the plumping glosses show off their effect most after a minute or two on, so don't judge by initial appearance putting it on, think it has to do with absorption and blending from warmth of lips. I really like how Poppy King doesn't use fear in her adverts. Although she's famous for red, in interviews she's said how she doesn't want any woman to wear red if it makes her feel uncomfortable, that it's a matter of finding whatever shade that makes the woman feel attractive and confident--for some women that might be nude or pink. She's also said she hates how homogenous and uniform fashion has become. Her brand bears this out. A brand for women who want to make a statement, be it a call to arms(Sinner) or a gentle whisper of persuasion(Saint). Do y'all know any healthy women who don't like making a statement? Didn't think so. PS: wanted to add a postscript to my already long review, noticing the one above. When I said Medieval is good training wheels for red wannabes, I meant women tempted by red lipstick, but afraid they couldn't pull it off. No, it doesn't have the staying power of her matte Sinner lipsticks, that and the redness has a way of absorbing into your lip's coloring. So, if the above reviewer ever gets tempted by the reds of LQ, but still feels burned by Med., I'd suggest doing Saint Red(she might find Sinner too dry w/out pairing w/a gloss or balm), either that, or one of her glosses. That, and if you're ever in a major metropolitan area where there are sample counters, make use of that to know for sure. Actually, think her Reds have a way of overshadowing her impressive Pink, which in Sinner seems to sidestep that juvenile look pink lipstick can have.

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2009 10:55:00 AM More reviews by Eliz12

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Take it from a person who has spent enough money on lipstick to finance a small country: this is the BEST product out there. I have "Red Sinner" and I LOVE it. It's matte, but not drying. The color stays a long time and never bleeds. I'm not a fashionista, but I feel positively glam in this lipstick.
I've tried the really expensive stuff, but it doesn't hold a candle to Lipstick Queen.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/8/2009 7:45:00 PM More reviews by bijouxqueen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

During one of my sofa shopping trips, I discovered LQ while pursuing Cle de peau and Chanticalle...Yes, I remembered Poppy from back in the day at Barney's, but I was into gloss in my youth.

This lipstick is simply fabulous---hands down! I am one of those whose lips are irritated by MOST lipsticks---particularly the full coverage variety---but I tolerated it. But NOT LQ...these lipsticks just make my lips feel and look great. That alone is remarkable.

But the colors are delicious and the staying power is formidable.

I have Saint Coral, Natural, and Rouge; Sinner Natural and Rouge. The Saints (in Natural and Rouge) seem a bit bluer to me, and the lip pencils (at least in these two colors) do not appear to match, but they are certainly tonal; the Rouge pencil also seems to be bluer.

Next I will buy Nude and Rasberry Saint and Sinner; and Coral Sinner. After reading the MUA reviews, I am even tempted to try the Pink Sinner (!?!?!).

I am delighted to have discovered LQ. What a find! I think y'all should hurry on to the LQ website and splurge!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2009 2:06:00 PM More reviews by xajaso

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have Saint Rouge, Sinner Natural, and Medieval. These are the best lipsticks ever, hands down. Great mouthfeel and lasting power. I got the red in Saint because I am so fair and don't want an overdone mouth, the saint is perfect for me. Sinner Natural is perfect for emphasized lips that last w/o heavy color, and Medieval is a cherry balm or stain that looks insane! Different on everyone but so cool. I highly recommend any of these lipsticks, once you feel them on your lips, you'll get the hype. Packaging is cool too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No