Hubner Silica Gel

4.3

18 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Silica. Purified Water


on 12/21/2014 11:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used Hubner Silica gel for about 4 months as a mask on my face at night mixed with calamine lotion. The results were very good, however I have my reasons for no longer using this product. Would I recommend it to others dealing with acne? Absolutely, because it did work quite well for me. I just found better alternatives in the long run. I wouldn't have used this for 4 months if it didn't give me good results.

What I liked about Hubner Silica Gel is it absorbed oil wonderfully. All I had to do was apply a layer of this on my face, wait for it to dry, then go to bed. Overnight it would consume all of my natural oils, preventing pimples from forming.

But the second I washed it off, those oil absorbing properties were gone. Thus it did nothing to keep oil nor acne from forming during the day. Because this is a topical product it does not address the internal problem of my oil production glands. Another con is washing it off in the morning was difficult and caused me to tug on my (sensitive) skin quite a bit.

To 100% get rid of my acne, I finally had to get to the root of the source. My hormone levels were forcing my oil glands into overproduction. There is a review in my profile on spearmint tea and it touches on the subject of antiandrogens. Additionally, my current skincare routine now reflects it.

I would recommend this product to anyone who is only looking to keep oil at bay.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.



on 8/23/2014 10:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a desperate idiot since my hair growth and texture really has sucked lately, really for years. I have tried so many things most of you out there would not believe it. Biosil -- I think one of the pricier brands -- is one of them and I feel it is important to let people know the b.s. marketing that makes us think we need this to help. First: NO DIFFERENCE in any kind of growth for nails, skin, or hair -- all suck as before. Literally, none -- and trust me I had hoped to get even an inkling of something or other beneficial. Seriously, and to make sure I maintained all other supplements and did not even drink a drop of alcohol to make sure I wouldn't mess things up for my test. Secondly, I looked into this. Do you guys know that BIOSIL is the ones who funded the studies showing their product works? This is akin to a liar funding the studies proving that their lies are the truth. That's how I see it. Please, for the love of all that is sacred, STOP GIVING MONEY AWAY to people who take advantage of us poor women who only want to look and feel better. I for one am SICK OF THE LIES. This product - Biosil -- is definitely a lie. Not sure about the other ones out there -- which I am about to go test, and will for sure be letting you know if they work. I won't give up on getting a healthier look, just sick of being taken for a ride by lies, lies, lies.


on 4/14/2014 2:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Silica works well if someone is deficient in that mineral but other than that, it doesn't do much to increase hair growth.


on 3/5/2014 12:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I started taking Flora vegetal silica supplements purchased on a well-known health product site about a month and a half ago, and although I'm not very observant as far as my hair goes and can't comment on that (maybe once it's grown out a bit?), I literally cannot believe that my nails haven't split or broken in the month that I've been taking it. I usually can't grow my nails very far past the wick without it breaking on one side or the other or flaking, but I now have actual white tips on my nails with no signs of breaking. They feel much harder and thicker as well. I wasn't expecting too much from silica (although I had hopes it work work well for me!) but I'm very impressed so far. I will update this review with more once I get an idea of how much this has helped my skin/hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2013 3:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using bamboo silica capsules for 5 months for my hair that was shedding. My hair has thickened up, is not shedding anymore, is growing faster and is shiny. I also noticed that my nails are growing quickly as well. I would recommend this product, I buy organic from a vitamin or health food store. I started off taking the recomended 4 caps a day for 2 months and now I just take 2 caps 4-5 times a week...Cheers...

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2013 5:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff. I have never been able to have long nails before. Growing up I never had to cut my nails because they were so bendy and soft I could just peel off the ends. The have been a bit stronger in the last few years but I still couldn't grow them very long at all.

I take it straight on a spoon and have no problem with the taste like some other people.. it tastes like nothing and I kinda like the weird texture.

After taking this every day for around a month or two I noticed that my nails were incredibly strong and long, they've never been like this before. It's funny, I was puzzled for a few days before I even remembered I was taking silica because I take quite a few supplements and forgot I was taking it. I take a tablespoon of the Hubner brand every day and I'm reveling in having the long nails I could never have before. I remember trying fake nails and they would always fall off and make my nails underneath look horrible, this is so much better! I can't wait to see how it's affecting my hair once more of it grows out.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been taking bamboo silica capsules for about a year now. I have fine hair that has always grown incredibly slow and was so weak, dull. My nails were brittel. I also suffered from acne since early teens. I am really so amazed with this I can seriously not live without this. My hair has been growing I would say 50% faster and so strong, shiny. My nails need to be cut about every 3-4 days now as I have small children I dont want my nails long, anyways, I would have to say the thing I can notice the most is my skin let me tell you! I rarely experience breakout now, my skin is dewy an glowing I can feel the difference like crazy I also read it is great for so many other things in maintaining good health. Take my word for it this stuff is great my mom has been taking and says the same thing as do a few of my friends and my hairdresser. It takes a couple months of taking this to see the real difference and I would recommend buy bamboo not horsetail becasue horstail is 5-7% silica and bamboo is 70% so you can see why its better I was taking horstail for the 1st couple months and switched to bamboo and bamboo is so much better, anyways goodluck!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased the qsilica brand of tablets 4 months ago and have taken two a day religiously since...My skin is acne prone and unfortunately this didn't help clear it up...However it didn't break me out either, so that's a plus.
This product did do wonders for my hair, lashes and nails.
Firstly, my hair looked so much healthier...I dyed it blond last year from black and then back again and it was in a dreadful condition-dry, dull, brittle...Within a month of taking these my hair was shiny and growing at a healthy rate (Note, the hair on the ends are weak and brittle, but the new hair growing is thick and glossy looking, which I can only put down to this).
Also, my lashes were short after a few years of continual artificial eyelash extensions (the glue to apply eyelash extensions rip out your lashes). However, since taking these my lashes look much longer and thicker.

Lastly, my nails, which are weak and peeling after 4 years of continual artificial nail application seem very strong and growing without peeling, so much so that I no longer need artificial nails (I hate short nails).

Honestly, I was skeptical at first, but I really think this helps. My sister actually asked if I had had botox because my skin looked "tight" (good tight!) I won't repurchase for a while because I am trying to get my acne sorted so I don't want to use this while on antibiotics. But as soon as that has cleared then I will certainly repurchase:)

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2012 5:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been taking Silica supplements in the form of tablet by a brand called Microgenics Advanced Silica Complex with Grapeseed. I was told this would be great for skin, hair and nails. I was told by professional that I would see improvements in my skin and hair with long term use of this supplements and not to give up after 1 month, soo I did continue use and I did so for almost 2 months, and I couldn't continue any further then that.
These are my results:
1. The first week of use was horrific! But that was my own fault. I didn't read the label on the packaging properly, I thought it was take one tablet daily in the morning. The packaging actually said "take once daily, with food". In the morning I usually don't eat breakfast, after taking this in the morning I was feeling really, really sick I had symptoms of vomiting, nausea etc mimicking what I believe to be morning sickness, and it really gave my partner false hopes because he thought maybe we got lucky. I on the other thought there is no way it could be morning sickness, my cycle just ended at exactly the same time that I started taking Silica supplements, even if we did got lucky, morning sick would not have started that soon. After I went back and had a closer inspection of the direction to use, I change my regime, I now take it once at night before bed after dinner, and the symptoms went away, and it was heartbreaking to see those symptoms go away, cause we were hoping it might be something else/ or a little someone else rather then the Silica.

2. Dehydration! OMG I was drinking like a cow all day long. I never use to do that. I could be unconsciously drinking anywhere between 250ml-300ml of water each time and not realise it till I saw the bottle, and this was constant throughout the day. My mouth is always dry, I couldn't wear my retainers for my teeth at night anymore because my mouth is always dry. I'm always going bathroom breaks, and even at night the drinking and the bathroom, it really disturbs the person next to me. I felt like a water addict.

Outcome:
Nothing, I later did research and found out, a lot of the food I ate daily had silica in it anyways, it was really pointless to take silica tablets for me. I also later found out that women who was pregnant or breastfeeding should not take silica supplements anyways. Though I'm not in either of these categories, I really don't want any unnecessary factors ruining my chances, and that was the reason why I cease use immediately after I realise it didn't do much for me.

My partner begged me not to take these supplements after 3 weeks of use, but I persisted for almost 2 months. Eventually I had to face the fact that my overall health is the same before, during and now after the silica. The only changes that it caused, and that was noticeable was the ballooning of my stomach with all the water.
I'm not sure whether this is caused by the brand that I using, the actual ingredients, or some other factor, but I definitely wont be trying any other silica supplements anytime soon.



on 12/5/2011 3:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is an excellent supplement for hair/skin/nails that can be an alternative for those who can't tolerate biotin. I've found biotin tends to break me out like crazy, but silica has no negative effects for me (YMMV, of course).



Benefits: clearer, smoother, brighter skin that looks like it's been air-brushed. Thicker, glossier hair that feels livelier and 'springier', if that makes any sense. Hair and nails grow much faster than usual and feel stronger.



I've found no great differences among the major brands (Jarrow, Hubner, etc.). Just go for the one that is best in terms of cost (always check dosage amounts before purchasing since sometimes the cost per dose might be higher for a lower-priced product).

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

116 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

51 reviews
Back to Top