September 20, 2014 | 993 users online

Nails - All Season Professional Light-Less Gel Kit



image 0

rated 3.9(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2014 11:01:00 AM More reviews by DallieB

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Well today is my first day with my lightless gel nails on. I cant review this based on how long they have lasted so far. I can however write that this kit is awesome. I have been getting my nails done for 9 years and they are so damaged and peel off. I got tired of paying $40 every two weeks to get my nails done, and started trying different kits to do them on my own. I have tried numerous kits like the walmart and target acrylic and gel kits as weel as acrylic from a beauty supply store. They never turn out right. The acrylic always end up really bumpy and if one hand looks good the other will not. Gel kits never dried they stayed sticky and Would peel off when I tried to file them. Also they end up looking thick and unnatural.

This kit changed my life. Not only do my nails look awesome and salon done. Its also GEL which is healthier for your nails and my nails can repair themselves while they still look good. I am so excited to try different things and to perfect my technique. I also found out that you can use this for 3D designs if you make the design with the lightless GEL and cure it, then paint lightly over the top it creates a design!!


LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/26/2013 7:25:00 PM More reviews by kenka

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this product, so simple to use, just make sure to file the top of your nails in order to remove excess oil from it (natural one), and then you will have to apply the primer so the gel can last longer,, ;)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/13/2013 1:11:00 AM More reviews by JazzyCloud

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this product for some time now and finally feel that I am able to give an honest review.

I like this product. Like. Not love. Like.

I have a problem that my nails will break from the side corners down, or chip, and I always hate having to cut all of them because one or two break. I started using this with some silk wraps that I got from sally's and while that did make my nails extremely strong, I found that I also got a lot of lifting and after a few days it looked off.

Now I use this just on its own. I have used it (and am using it now) as a base on one of my nails that has a crack in it so that the crack has a chance to grow out. I have also used it as a top coat. I wanted to compare the staying power of sandwiching this one (gel resin base, regular nail polish, gel resin top coat) on one hand, and using my regular base and top coat on the other.

Here is what I found:

The hand that had the sandwich resin base, regular polish, resin top coat WAS stronger and harder than my other hand that had just my regular polishes.

BUT!!!!!

I noticed that this resin "cracks". Not like pieces come off, but that cracks appear in it. The surface is still smooth, it just look like splintering glass under the surface.

The polish that I tried sandwiching this resin with was Revlon Whimsical, because of this the "spider web cracks" were not really that noticeable because the polish is so busy. HOWEVER, if I had tried using this with a cream, or any type of basic polish, it would have ruined the look completely.

Also, it didn't really extend the life of the polish. The "spider web cracks" eventually did cause it to crack off.

As a base it is easier to ignore the cracks that appear because I usually layer polish on top and don't notice it.

Overall though I am not really impressed with this product. For the price I would probably repurchase it because it does help me when I crack a nail and I find that it works better than nail glue. However, I will probably just use actual UV gel polish when I want to sandwich polish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/17/2011 5:45:00 PM More reviews by soniafwny

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have supper thin nails that peel off. I have tried everything from nail polish to silk wrap to acrylick, but it's become too costly. So, when my sister-in-law brought this stuff over for me to try on her, I fell in love with it. I bought it the next day and I have not stopped using it since. I don't use the white tips. I just put it on my whole nail. I like changing my nail color every other day. There is a trick to this to make it last. You will need this box set and 3 different files. One with the larger grain, then a fine grain, then a buffer to smooth and shine the surface. Here is how I do it:
1. Use a nail file and lightly file the top of your nail.
2. Spread the gel with the long tip, that is in the box, evenly all over one nail.
3. Spray it and move on to the next nail. Otherwise, if you wait to spray when you are done with your whole hand, it will start to run (Note: Your nails may get really hot when you spray them).
4. File and buff down the surface of the nails with the larger grain file.
5. Repeat steps 2-4. I usually do it 2-3 times, because it comes out very thin.
6. When you have done Steps 2-4 a few times, use a fine grain file, then a buffer to smooth and shine the surface.
It does chip and crack sometimes. I noticed that there is more chipping if you don't use the tips. But, I just buff that part down and re-do it. Now, my nails are the longest I have ever had them. They look so nice that I always get asked where I get my nails done. I just say, "In my living room." A girl asked me yesterday if she can have my card and come to me to get her nail done... It was really funny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/8/2011 12:48:00 AM More reviews by Yannii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this gel kit.

I've only done a full set once before, but it definitely lasted.
The application is very simple and it shouldn't take too long. When you spray after applying the gel it dries in about a few seconds. Like another commenter said, the nails aren't thick and fake looking. I do admit that during the two weeks, about 3 nails broke (mostly on my right hand), but that is mostly due to the fact that I was rushing to try and get it done, and I am right-handed.

I watched PlatinumLuvXoXo video on youtube, and she gave a lot of good pointers on how to do the nails and get the best results.

Also, after the two weeks were up, removing the nails was a breeze. I know you're supposed to soak them off, but it seemed like the nails were ready to come off anyways. They popped right off when I stuck something in between my natural nail and the tips. Or if it was still holding on tight, i just bit it. (I know, terrible) However, my natural nail underneath, after a little buffing, was just as strong as usual. It was as if i never had on nails in the first place. Unlike when I get acrylics, the nails are left weak and brittle.

I definitely recommend this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/18/2011 11:49:00 PM More reviews by pearl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I ran across this while browsing Sally's site and it looked too good to be true -- a do it yourself at home gel kit that required no UV light. It wasn't expensive so I thought I'd give it a try.

Application was pretty easy: I laid a drop of the gel on a nail, used the flat nail brush (bought separately), and moved on. When the hand was done I sprayed it and waited a minute before doing anything. I thought there was no way it'd be dry but it was! I did the same with my right.

Two problems: I didn't dip the brush in acetone between each nail and it got hard. Am going to try soaking it, since soaking is supposed to remove the gel from your nails. Second problem is my nails are kind of grainy. I need to find a fine-grain buffer and/or improve my technique.

Will update soon!

Update: i never did conquer the grainy problem, and the gel did not last long on my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/18/2009 5:40:00 PM More reviews by krumrill

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I wore acrylics for years, took them off, spent months growing my nails back to a healthy state, put acrylics on again, and once again spent months growing them again. It's been almost a year and a half since last putting acrylics on my nails, and they're healthy and long. My one complaint is that polish doesn't last as long on natural nails as it does on acrylics, and I don't have the patience to paint my nails every time they begin to chip. I was looking for something (such as a gel, wrap, or good base coat) to give polish a better surface and prevent chipping. I came across Light Less Gel on SallyBeauty.com, and seeing 100% positive feedback on both Sally's website and MUA, I went out to try it. I wasn't looking to add tips, so I skipped the kit and bought the gel and spray alone, along with some tip extenders. I buffed my nails using a basic 3-way buffer from Walmart ($0.97) and began applying the gel using the tip extender. You have to work carefully, as if the gel runs to your cuticles it's very hard to get off. I carefully squirt a Z shape on my nail, smoothed it out using the tip of the applicator, sprayed, and buffed. After finishing one hand, I repeated that process to build a thicker gel coat. Being the first time, my nails look far from professionally done. They're strong like acrylics without being thick and fake. Honestly, it hardly looks like I have anything on my nails at all. I think this would be easier to use if you get a full set professionally done, and re-fill with this. It's hard to buff them even and smooth, without one side being thicker than the other. I would recommend this to someone looking to do artificial nails at home, but this just wasn't for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/30/2009 10:39:00 PM More reviews by anabolina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

So I picked this up today so I can't comment on the durabillty of these yet. I used this kit, but bought a primer and nail dehydrator to use with it. They look pretty good and feel very securly attached. I've never tried to do acrylics before and they are a bit sloppy. I used an acrylic brush to smooth the gel down, but it still isn't completely even. I filed down the top a bit and buffed them shiny and they look pretty good, especially for first-timer. You'd have to get really close to them to notice anything weird about them. I like that this was quick and easy. I think I took 30 minutes from start to finish. I don't like the hard to control gel or that its clear and a bit runny. I've had acrylics done in the salon and the acrylic is a lot firmer in texture than the gel is and I don't care for the clear look, I wish it had a pink tint. I suppose I could buy some colors to add to it. Another thing I like about this is no odor. I did this in a room with the door closed and no ventilation and there wasn't even a smell.I've sure I'll be better at this next time. It is so much better than getting them done in the salon. This way you can control what happens to the nail so there's less damage then with the motorized tools. All told with tax and everything I spent $40 for this, the dehydrator/cleaner, primer, and manicure kit. The manicure kit is going back tomorrow though since the cuticle oil is all dried up.

Good buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/10/2009 2:49:00 PM More reviews by teeisblue

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wanted to try someting to keep my nails looking nice and stop me from biting them, but I can't afford to get them done professionally, and it's really hard to do acrylics at home... So I got this at Sally's for pretty cheap. I've never done gel nails without the UV light, but this was so inexpensive I decided to try it. This kit comes with tips, gel, gel cure, extender tip, file, glue. I like the tips, they're french white so I don't have to polish. I put these on five days ago and have only a slight amount of lift, but I know why, and will explain. I'm really diggin the look of these and I love how there's no reason to file down for smoothness. The one thing I don't like is the extender tip. It's really hard to spread the gel evenly with the tip and by the time I'd fix one side, the gel ran onto my finger on the other side because I put so much on as a first timer. Because of that, the gel was against my cuticle in some areas and on my finger in others. I tried filing it away after it cured but it was a real mess and I know I didn't get it all, and I know that is causing the lifting. Otherwise, it's great, the nails are holding up really well. I haven't had any chips or breakage. I also wear dish gloves when I do dishes to keep the water from getting underneath and causing problems. Next time, for filling, I'm going to use a brush to spread the gel around and hopefully that will help with the excess. These cure really fast with the spray and don't leave that awful lingering smell like acrylic does. Def recommend!

EDIT: okay I guess I jinxed myself or something cuz the day after I wrote this, I barely bumped my thumb and the nail completely busted! It didn't hurt at all, but it was impossible to fix so I ended up taking all the tips off and redoing the gel. but now it's cracking everywhere. So these look good, but don't last for crap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No